Page last updated at 19:15 GMT, Wednesday, 7 October 2009 20:15 UK

University partnership given 20m

University-level education in Cornwall is to receive £20m of government investment over the next 10 years.

The money will be distributed among the six universities and colleges in the Combined Universities in Cornwall partnership (CUC).

It will help fund about 500 extra student places in the county each year, which will result in more than 7,500 people studying in Cornwall by 2011.

The CUC said it was a major step for local education and research.

The partnership includes Cornwall College, Truro and Penwith College, the Peninsula College of Medicine and Dentistry, University College Falmouth, and the universities of Exeter and Plymouth.

Print Sponsor

Expansion for university campus
15 Jan 09 |  Cornwall
Merger plan approved for colleges
07 Apr 08 |  Cornwall
Head of education group appointed
03 Feb 07 |  Cornwall
55m expansion for universities
23 Mar 05 |  Cornwall
New university opens for business
01 Oct 04 |  Cornwall

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific