Page last updated at 11:38 GMT, Friday, 9 April 2010 12:38 UK

Cambridgeshire will have 'most boring' election

Cambridgeshire could be the country's "most boring" election venue, a vote reform group has said.

The Electoral Reform Society said that the current voting system means the county's seven seats are "safe as houses" and will not change hands.

The Conservatives currently have six seats, with the Liberal Democrats holding Cambridge, and the society believes change is unlikely.

It has called for a "radical overhaul" of the voting system.

Dr Ken Ritchie, the chief executive of the Electoral Reform Society, said "this contest is already over" for people living in safe seats.

"Across the country we're seeing a tale of two elections - and two electorates. One that matters, and one that doesn't."

The society campaigns for proportional representation and the single transferable vote system, which would allow voters to rank candidates in order of preference.

Candidates so far announced in Cambridgeshire include:

• Cambridge: Conservative: Nick Hillman; Labour: Daniel Zeicher; Lib Dem: Julian Huppert; Green: Tony Juniper; Trade Unionist and Socialist coalition: Martin Booth; UK Independence Party: Peter Burkinshaw

• Huntingdon: Labour: Anthea Cox; Conservative: Jonathon Djanogly: Lib Dem: Martin Land; Green: John Clare; Monster Raving Looney Party: Lord Toby Jug; UK Independence Party: Ian Curtis

• Peterborough: Conservative: Stewart Jackson; Labour: Ed Murphy; Lib Dem: Nick Sandford; English Democrats: Rob King; UK Independence Party: Frances Fox; Green: Fiona Radic; BNP: Dave Strickson

• North East Cambridgeshire: Conservative: Steve Barclay; Labour: Peter Roberts; Lib Dem: Lorna Spenceley; UK Independence Party: Robin Talbot; BNP: Susan Clapp

• North West Cambridgeshire: Conservative: Shailesh Vara; Labour: Chris York; Lib Dem: Kevin Wilkins; English Democrats: Stephen Goldspink; UK Independence Party: Robert Brown

• South Cambridgeshire: Conservative: Andrew Lansley; Labour: Tariq Sadiq; Lib Dem: Sebastian Kindersley; Green: Simon Saggers; UK Independence Party: Helene Davis-Green

• South East Cambridgeshire: Conservative: James Paice; Labour: John Cowan; Liberal Democrat: Johnathon Chatfield; UK Independence Party: Andy Monk; Green: Simon Sedgewick.

Print Sponsor

Doubts over MP reform proposals
02 Feb 10 |  UK Politics
MPs set for electoral reform vote
01 Feb 10 |  UK Politics

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific