Page last updated at 09:14 GMT, Wednesday, 1 April 2009 10:14 UK

Make up of new unitary councils

The biggest local government shake-up for decades has resulted in the creation of nine new unitary authorities in seven areas.

The new councils, which will provide services to around 3.2 million people, replace 44 districts with a view to saving £100m per year.

The affected areas are:

New unitary authorities


Bedfordshire County Council has been replaced and its area divided into two new unitary authorities:

  • Central Bedfordshire Council comprises the former district council areas of Mid and South Bedfordshire.
  • Bedford Borough Council is formed from the old Bedford and Kempston district areas.


Cheshire County Council has been replaced and its area divided into two new unitary authorities:

  • Cheshire East Council comprises the former borough areas of Crewe and Nantwich, Macclesfield, and Congleton.
  • Cheshire West and Chester Council is formed from the old Chester City Council, Ellesmere Port and Neston, and Vale Royal borough areas.


The new Cornwall Council replaces:

  • Caradon District Council
  • Carrick District Council
  • Cornwall County Council
  • Kerrier District Council
  • North Cornwall District Council
  • Penwith District Council
  • Restormel Borough Council


The new Durham County Council replaces:

  • Chester-le-Street
  • Durham City Council
  • The former Durham County Council
  • Derwentside District Council
  • Easington District Council
  • Sedgefield Borough Council
  • Teesdale District Council
  • Wear Valley District Council


The new Northumberland County Council replaces:

  • Alnwick District Council
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed Borough Council
  • Blyth Valley Borough Council
  • Castle Morpeth Borough Council
  • The former Northumberland County Council
  • Tynedale Council
  • Wansbeck District Council


The new Shropshire Council replaces:

  • Bridgnorth District Council
  • North Shropshire District Council
  • Oswestry Borough Council
  • Shrewsbury and Atcham Borough Council
  • Shropshire County Council
  • South Shropshire District Council


The new Wiltshire Council replaces:

  • Kennet District Council
  • North Wiltshire District Council
  • Salisbury District Council
  • West Wiltshire District Council
  • Wiltshire County Council

Print Sponsor

Cheshire enters new council era
01 Apr 09 |  England
Go-ahead for unitary master plan
05 Oct 08 |  England
Bid to speed up unitary hearing
30 May 07 |  Shropshire

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific