Page last updated at 15:36 GMT, Thursday, 15 January 2009

Improvements are planned for A14

Cannot play media. Sorry, this media is not available in your territory.

Redevelopment work on the A14 in Cambridgeshire is set to begin in 2011

Plans to improve the main East to West route - the A14 - have been unveiled by the Transport Secretary Geoff Hoon.

Improvements are planned for the key M1 junction 19 interchange with the M6 and A14 on the border of Northamptonshire and Leicestershire.

The A14 between junctions 7 and 9 at Kettering will be widened. Work is due to start in 2011 or 2012.

They are part of a 6bn government transport package which includes a third runway at Heathrow Airport.

The government also wants to introduce what it calls "traffic management technology improvements" over the length of the A14 from Felixstowe in Suffolk to the M1 in the East Midlands.

This could for example include more speed cameras, including cameras which measure the average speed of cars.

There are also plans for the electrification of the Midland Main Line from Bedford to Nottingham, Sheffield and Derby, and from Kettering to Corby.

The government says this will make rail travel more environmentally friendly and more reliable.

Print Sponsor

Transport schemes bid for 17.6m
30 Jul 08 |  Northamptonshire
New transport strategy for county
05 Sep 07 |  Northamptonshire

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific