Page last updated at 03:04 GMT, Wednesday, 24 March 2010

Telegraph takes paper of year honour for expenses scoop

Front page of the Daily Telegraph
The Telegraph spread the revelations out over several weeks

The Daily Telegraph has picked up a string of honours including newspaper of the year at the British Press Awards after its stories on MPs' expenses.

The revelations last spring led to resignations and a Commons inquiry.

Group editor Will Lewis was journalist of the year, Robert Winnett was top political journalist and the paper won best scoop and best special supplement.

Expenses row campaigner Heather Brooke won a special award. Reporter of the year went to the Guardian's Paul Lewis.

The Daily and Sunday Telegraph began to publish stories on MPs' expenses after buying details from a Westminster source before they were officially released.

Sales boost

Over a series of weeks, the Telegraph detailed what MPs had claimed, highlighting the spending on items as wide-ranging as moat-cleaning, duck islands and bath plugs, while also shining a light on practices, such as the "flipping" between homes, that voters had previously been unaware of.

Telegraph Group papers saw a sales boost and traffic to its website increased.

Reporter of the year Paul Lewis has gathered a number of awards for his stories on the G20 protests in London last year, specifically his investigation into the events surrounding the death of Ian Tomlinson.

The British Press Awards were hosted by BBC Radio 4 presenter John Humphrys and took place at the Grosvenor House Hotel.

Other winners included former England cricket captain Mike Atherton, who took sports journalist of the year for his work in the Times, and the Daily Mail's political sketch writer Quentin Letts, who was named critic of the year for his theatre reviews, which are carried in the same newspaper.

Here is a full list of the winners of the British Press Awards:

Newspaper of the Year: The Daily Telegraph

Scoop of the Year: Daily Telegraph: MPs' expenses

Journalist of the Year: Will Lewis, editor-in-chief, Telegraph Media Group

Business and Finance Journalist of the Year: Iain Dey, The Sunday Times

Sports Journalist of the Year: Mike Atherton, The Times

Photographer of the Year: Stefan Rousseau, Press Association Images

Sports Photographer of the Year: Andy Hooper, Daily Mail

Showbiz Reporter of the Year: Dan Wootton, News of the World

Interviewer of the Year: Camilla Long, The Sunday Times

Digital Innovation: SunTalk, The Sun

Critic of the Year: Quentin Letts, Daily Mail

Columnist of the Year: Caitlin Moran, The Times

Cartoonist of the Year: Peter Brookes, The Times

Young Journalist of the Year: Sheera Frankel, The Times

Cudlipp Award for Campaigning Popular Journalism: Andrew Penman and Nick Sommerlad Investigate, the Daily Mirror

Regular Supplement of the Year: You Magazine, Mail on Sunday

Special Supplement of the Year: MPs' Expenses, The Daily Telegraph

Feature Writer of the Year: Tanya Gold, The Guardian

Campaign of the Year: MPs' expenses, Daily Telegraph

Specialist Journalist of the Year: Jason Lewis, Mail on Sunday

Political Journalist of the Year: Robert Winnett, The Daily Telegraph

Foreign Reporter of the Year: Marie Colvin, The Sunday Times

Reporter of the Year: Paul Lewis, The Guardian

Journalists' Charity Award: Walter Greenwood

Foreign Journalist of the Year: J.S. Tissainayagam, from Sri Lanka

Special award: Heather Brooke

Print Sponsor

UK award for Sri Lanka journalist
24 Mar 10 |  South Asia
Q&A: MP expenses row explained
29 Mar 10 |  UK Politics
Man behind expenses leak revealed
23 May 09 |  UK Politics
MP expenses: A triumph of journalism?
16 May 09 |  Entertainment

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific