Swine flu: Country by country

The spread of swine flu around the world was classed by the World Health Organization (WHO) as a global pandemic. Cases were confirmed in at least 171 countries and territories and the illness caused deaths in at least 139. For more see our swine flu special report.

After 6 July 2009, the WHO stopped producing detailed worldwide figures. For subsequent updates to the interactive map below, the source data was taken from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC). ECDC stopped producing its detailed global breakdown on 19 January 2010 as disease patterns show a decline in swine flu deaths across the EU.

Country Cases Deaths
Source: WHO, CDC, HPA(UK), governments
Afghanistan yes 17
Albania yes 6
Algeria yes 57
Andorra yes  
Antigua & Barbuda yes  
Argentina yes 617
Armenia yes 3
Australia yes 191
Austria yes 24
Bahamas yes 4
Bahrain yes 7
Bangladesh yes 6
Barbados yes 3
Belarus yes 20
Belgium yes 17
Belize yes  
Bhutan yes  
Bolivia yes 59
Bosnia & Herzegovina yes 10
Botswana yes  
Brazil yes 1632
Brunei yes 1
Bulgaria yes 35
Cambodia yes 6
Canada yes 418
Cape Verde yes  
Chile yes 150
China yes 714
Colombia yes 198
Costa Rica yes 50
Ivory Coast yes  
Croatia yes 26
Cuba yes 53
Cyprus yes 6
Czech Republic yes 77
Denmark yes 30
Dominica yes  
Dominican Republic yes 23
Ecuador yes 117
Egypt yes 219
El Salvador yes 32
Estonia yes 13
Ethiopia yes  
Fiji yes  
Finland yes 41
France yes 258
Gabon yes  
Georgia yes 21
Germany yes 178
Ghana yes 1
Greece yes 93
Grenada yes  
Guatemala yes 18
Guyana yes 1
Haiti yes  
Honduras yes 16
Hungary yes 57
Iceland yes 2
India yes 1119
Indonesia yes 10
Iran yes 147
Iraq yes 42
Ireland yes 22
Israel yes 85
Italy yes 210
Jamaica yes 7
Japan yes 145
Jordan yes 19
Kazakhstan yes  
Kenya yes  
Kuwait yes 30
Laos yes 1
Latvia yes 31
Lebanon yes 5
Libya yes 1
Lithuania yes 21
Luxembourg yes 3
Macedonia yes 23
Madagascar yes 3
Malaysia yes 77
Maldives yes 1
Malta yes 4
Marshall Islands yes 1
Mauritius yes 8
Mexico yes 909
Micronesia yes  
Monaco yes 29
Mongolia yes  
Montenegro yes 7
Morocco yes 53
Mozambique yes 2
Burma yes  
Namibia yes 1
Nepal yes 2
Netherlands yes 54
New Zealand yes 20
Nicaragua yes 11
Norway yes 29
Oman yes 31
Pakistan yes 14
Palau yes  
Panama yes 11
Papua New Guinea yes  
Paraguay yes 52
Peru yes 208
Philippines yes 30
Poland yes 138
Portugal yes 83
Qatar yes 10
South Korea yes 170
Moldova yes 35
Romania yes 107
Russia yes 19
St Kitts & Nevis yes 2
St Lucia yes 1
St Vincent & the Grenadines yes  
Samoa yes 2
Sao Tome & Principe yes 2
Saudi Arabia yes 124
Serbia yes 71
Seychelles yes  
Singapore yes 19
Slovakia yes 38
Slovenia yes 15
Solomon Islands yes 1
South Africa yes 93
Spain yes 271
Sri Lanka yes 46
Sudan yes 5
Suriname yes 2
Swaziland yes  
Sweden yes 25
Switzerland yes 16
Syria yes 127
Tanzania yes 1
Thailand yes 196
Tonga yes 1
Trinidad & Tobago yes 5
Tunisia yes 21
Turkey yes 415
Uganda yes  
Ukraine yes 202
United Arab Emirates yes 6
UK yes 362
US yes 2328
Uruguay yes 33
Vanuatu yes  
Venezuela yes 129
Vietnam yes 53
Yemen yes 28
Cayman Islands yes 1
Taiwan yes 37
West Bank and Gaza yes 28
Bermuda yes 1
British Virgin Islands yes  
French Polynesia yes 7
Martinique yes 1
Curacao yes  
Isle of Man yes  
Channel Islands yes  
Sint Maarten yes  
New Caledonia yes 9
Aruba yes  
Cook Islands yes 1
Guadeloupe yes 5
St Martin yes  
Kosovo yes 14
Hong Kong yes 56
Macau yes 2
Reunion yes 7
Mayotte yes 2

Source: WHO, ECDC, CPC, HPA (UK), governments

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific