Page last updated at 10:28 GMT, Tuesday, 13 May 2008 11:28 UK

Ross and Brand win at Sony Awards

Jonathan Ross and Joan Collins
Jonathan Ross was presented with his award by actress Joan Collins

Jonathan Ross and Russell Brand have won Sony Awards for their BBC Radio 2 programmes at a ceremony which saw BBC Radio 4 named UK station of the year.

Ross was judged the top personality on UK music radio while Brand had the best entertainment show.

BBC Radio 1's Chris Moyles collected the prize for best breakfast show, while Simon Mayo of BBC Radio 5 Live was speech broadcaster of the year.

There was a special award for Sounds of the Sixties host Brian Matthews.

The Radio 2 DJ was recognised for "an impressive record of more than 50 years of national and international radio broadcasting".

And another lifetime achievement prize went to Jenny Abramsky, who is stepping down as director of audio and music at the BBC to chair the Heritage Lottery Fund.

Russell Brand
Brand was not at the ceremony to collect his award
BBC World Service won four awards, including news journalist of the year for Owen Bennett-Jones and best news and current affairs programme for Newshour.

Planet Rock, which is threatened with closure unless a buyer can be found for it by the end of this month, was named the digital station of the year.

Three broadcasters gained awards as the commercial stations of the year.

Silk FM in Macclesfield took the prize for those with a potential audience of fewer than 300,000; GWR Bristol won for the 300,000 to 1 million range; and Manchester's Key 103 was judged the best "big" station.

The ceremony was held in London and hosted by broadcaster Paul Gambaccini.

Gold, silver and bronze awards were given out in 31 categories.

'Pay rise'

It was five minutes of silence that probably swayed the judges in favour of Simon Mayo
John Cary
Editor, Simon Mayo programme

Brand was not at the ceremony to collect the prize for his late-night Saturday show but Moyles was presented with his trophy by his parents, Vera and Chris.

"Eight million listeners know he deserves it," they said - but despite winning, the DJ himself dismissed the awards as "rubbish" and "boring".

Accepting his prize, he said: "I should get a pay rise. Before all of us got together the Radio 1 breakfast show... oh, it was dreadful."

Ross joked he had "arrived at last" thanks to his victory.

"It's the vindication I've been seeking," he added, thanking the "unsung heroes" who kept the show running.

Mayo beat Today programme presenter John Humphrys to be speech broadcaster of the year and said he was "genuinely stunned".

Dermot O'Leary
Dermot O'Leary's show for BBC Radio 2 was named best music programme
He paid tribute to Humphrys and his Today co-host James Naughtie, describing them as "the Ant and Dec of breakfast radio".

Radio 4 controller Mark Damazer said he had been "privileged" to listen to his network, named station of the year, "for 35 years".

"I began as a listener and was seduced away from Tony Blackburn to the delights of Nicholas Parsons and Humphrey Lyttleton.

"I was privileged when I was associated with BBC News to be linked to Radio 4's finest news programmes and I'm extremely lucky and privileged now."

Ms Abramsky announced last month she was leaving the BBC after almost 40 years in radio and said her career had been "astonishing fun because I just think radio is truly special".

"It is the most personal medium, it is the most democratic medium. I think it's the most ambitious and the most creative, and that's because of what all of you do in this room."

Moyles, Brand up for radio awards
10 Apr 08 |  Entertainment
BBC's radio boss Abramsky resigns
10 Apr 08 |  Entertainment
Moyles sees radio audience soar
10 May 07 |  Entertainment
Radio listening hits record high
01 Feb 07 |  Entertainment


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific