Mapping migration from the new EU countries

All data relates to the "Accession eight" (A8) nations which joined the EU in May 2004. These are:
Poland, Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Hungary, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Every local authority in the UK has seen migration from the eight Eastern European countries that joined the EU in May 2004, a report from the Institute of Public Policy Research has revealed.

The pattern of migration has been unlike previous significant influxes because about half of those who came have already left the country, according to IPPR estimates.

Use the maps below to explore where migrant workers went and how many are estimated to still be in the UK.

Choose a map

This map shows total numbers of Eastern European migrants in each local authority who registered for work between May 2004 and December 2007.

It reveals that the migrants, from the "Accession eight" countries (A8), took jobs across the whole of the UK - from fish processing in Scotland to farm work in the East of England.

However, not everyone has to register in order to work and, as cumulative totals, the figures do not show how many migrants are currently in each location.

The data used in these maps was supplied by the Institute of Public Policy Research.

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific