[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Tuesday, 26 July 2005, 21:32 GMT 22:32 UK
British soldier dies in avalanche
Mt Blanc de Tacul
Mont Blanc de Tacul is one of the highest peaks in the range
A British soldier has died and two have been injured after an avalanche in the Mont Blanc mountain range in the French Alps, the Ministry of Defence has said.

"The soldiers were part of a group of six on an adventurous training expedition," a spokesman said. Next of kin are being informed.

The group were descending from the peak of Mont Blanc de Tacul when they were caught at above 12,000 feet (3,658m).

Three helicopters and dozens of rescue workers with dogs went to the scene.

AP news agency reported that no other victims were found after the avalanche, and witnesses thought the group of six were the only people in the area at the time.

It said the search for survivors had been called off on Tuesday evening due to poor weather conditions.

France Info radio reported that the avalanche took place at about 1320 GMT (1420 BST).




RELATED INTERNET LINKS:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific