[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Friday, 12 December, 2003, 17:20 GMT
Daily summit diary
Computer keyboard
Daily news from the summit
Catch up with the atmosphere of December's UN summit on the information society in Geneva, with BBC News Online reporter Aaron Scullion's diary.

Day three :: Day to remember? (1720 GMT, 1820 CET)

Things are drawing to a close, and in an attempt to grab the final limelight, the President of Senegal has just announced that 12 December will be forever known as Digital Solidarity Day.

This reporter predicts jubilation in Senegal, and not much anywhere else.

It's kind of symbolic of a conference that promises much, but hasn't delivered yet.

Let's see what happens in Tunisia in 2005.

Day three :: Blogging mad (1530 GMT, 1630 CET)

It's remarkable how much blogging there is going on here.

Everywhere you turn, in the media centre, in the cyber cafe, and on wi-fi laptops, people are posting their thoughts to their own sites.

I've personally met bloggers from Britain, Italy, Iran, South Africa and the USA.

Technologically, the event has been a partial success.

The Wi-Fi service, which covers the entire conference centre, has worked. The main objection has been the price.

Wi-fi service throughout the summit, for one user, cost nearly 100, which seems a little short-sighted given how many delegates will have been put off sampling its delights.

Day three :: Impotence (1315 GMT, 1415 CET)

Friday lacks momentum.

The media centre is very quiet - there are even some free sandwiches left in the lounge - and I've even seen a couple of journalists sitting around reading novels.

So, anyone still here is waiting for the closing news conference which is still five hours away...

The summit may have been a great meeting point for organisation, but the big decisions, for what they're worth, were taken before the delegates arrived.

So there's a general feeling of impotence.

As if to highlight that, the summit's main session - having heard from key organisation and world governments - has moved on to the World Meteorological Organisation.

Day two :: Tight security (1640 GMT, 1740 CET)

Iran's President is to give a news conference here in less than an hour, and for the first time during this summit, metal detectors have been installed inside the media centre.

Anyone hoping to hear what Mr Khatami has to say will have go undergo yet another security check.

Bear in mind that most of us have already passed three security checkpoints to get to this point, and it will give you some view of how seriously they're taking this.

Day two :: Mobile harmony? (1500 GMT, 1600 CET)

Advanced mobile technology is on display right now, as a Japanese mobile company presents its finest products to the summit delegates.

Mobile phones on display
The latest mobile technology is noisy
There are a couple of sideshows - one's a huge display of traditional Japanese dancing.

But the other is a huge display of new mobile phones. They've got built-in music players, so the ring tone quality is pretty good.

This is demonstrated by playing 20 national anthems, one on each phone, all at the same time.

It's pretty terrifying.

Day two :: Getting yourself heard (1345 GMT, 1445 CET)

This conference centre is so huge, there is an indoor motocross event being held here in a couple of weeks.

And it sometimes feels like they've filled every square inch with debates and press conferences.

So the various exhibitors are engaged in a constant battle to make their event stand out from the crowd.

Already today, one group has had teenage children from developing countries address a room full of cynical journalists - the kids all did rather well.

But one man speaking on issues relating to indigenous people went one further and sang to all those in attendance.

There were, apparently, a few people laughing at the back of the room, but the musical interlude was brief and ultimately nobody left.

Day one :: Kofi Annan talks (1330 GMT, 1430 CET)

The first plenary session is about to start - where the summit's key aims are discussed - and UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan is addressing the delegation.

Inside the summit
The summit is huge with tight security
He will be followed by heads of state, government figures and representatives of a host of other organisations during the next couple of days.

Obviously, only a fraction of the 12,922 people at the Summit can get in, and an almighty scrum took place at the entrance used by the media.

Whether too many people had passes, or too many arrived late, or another thing happened entirely, I do not know.

But it does not help when the security guards shout at delegates in a language they do not understand.

For journalists who did not get a pass, there are headsets available which provide a bewildering number of translations of the dialogue.

I do not mean to complain, but the reception is a little patchy in the media centre...

Day one :: Arriving

Just 24 hours after my arrival, it is easier to deal with the daunting scale of the summit, but it does not help that the venue is the most sprawling conference centre I have ever seen.

There are a huge number of events taking place, and getting from one to another in time is not made any easier by the number of heavily-armed security checks.

The guards are wearing full camouflage gear, which seems a little ridiculous - and as a fellow journalist pointed out, there is not much greenery around to hide in.

You expect heavy security at any event where heads of state are in attendance, but there are only two checkpoints at one major entrance to the summit's main hall, and they get pretty busy.

Minor frustrations of that nature are a big part of life here - after all, it is a technology conference.

In fact, as I type, the speaker I am listening to is struggling badly with a multimedia presentation that just will not work.



PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific