Europe South Asia Asia Pacific Americas Middle East Africa BBC Homepage World Service Education
BBC Homepagelow graphics version | feedback | help
BBC News Online
 You are in: Talking Point
Front Page 
World 
UK 
UK Politics 
Business 
Sci/Tech 
Health 
Education 
Entertainment 
Talking Point 
Forum 
In Depth 
AudioVideo 

Tuesday, 17 April, 2001, 15:01 GMT 16:01 UK
Quiz euro expert Paul Temperton

The introduction of the euro notes and coins in 12 European Union states at the end of this year will be a major upheaval for all involved.

Shoppers will be faced with new prices and the unfamiliar feel of a new currency. Businesses and banks will have to handle two currencies at once during the transitional period.

Old currencies will quickly cease to be legal tender, and bank accounts will switch silently over to a currency whose exchange rate has fluctuated violently since its debut in January 1999.

Surveys show that many businesspeople are unprepared, and that other citizens feel ill informed or anxious.

How will the euro affect you? How difficult will be the changeover?

Paul Temperton, an expert and author on the issue will answer your questions in a live News Online webcast with BBC World Service's Europe Today on Friday at 1615GMT / 1715BST. Use the form below to send your questions in now.



Name:

Your E-mail Address:


City and country:

Questions:

Search BBC News Online

Advanced search options
Launch console
BBC RADIO NEWS
BBC ONE TV NEWS
WORLD NEWS SUMMARY
PROGRAMMES GUIDE
See also:

12 Feb 01 | Business
Euro cash tough to launch
08 Feb 01 | Business
Q&A: Euro basics
25 Sep 00 | Business
Business and the euro
Internet links:


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Links to more Talking Point stories