BBC Homepage World Service Education
BBC Homepagelow graphics version | feedback | help
BBC News Online
 You are in: Sport: Football: FA Carling Premiership
Front Page 
UK Politics 
Talking Point 
In Depth 
Sunday, 30 April, 2000, 22:36 GMT 23:36 UK
Keane claims award double

Keane adds two player awards to his Premiership medal
Roy Keane has been named player of the year by the Professional Footballers Association - completing an award-winning weekend for the Manchester United captain.

The Republic of Ireland midfielder added the PFA crown to the football writers' award he claimed on Friday.

Keane topped the players' poll ahead of Sunderland striker Kevin Phillips and Harry Kewell of Leeds, who were also second and third in the footballer of the year list.

Kewell was also presented with the award for young player of the year, finishing ahead of Coventry's Robbie Keane and Steven Gerrard of Liverpool in the nominations.

Kevin Phillips: A double runner-up this season
Keane, who received his award from Fifa president Sepp Blatter at London's Grosvenor House Hotel, achieved the double feat despite being heavily criticised this season for his hounding of referees.

But his leadership qualities are unmatched in English football and his all-round skills in midfield have played a major factor in United wrapping up the Premiership title in record time this season.

He emulates Tottenham's French winger David Ginola, who won both awards last year.

Keane also features in the PFA team of the year alongside United colleagues David Beckham, Jaap Stam and Andy Cole.

Leeds, who matched their Manchester title rivals for much of the season, also have four players in the top team, with Kewell joined by goalkeeper Nigel Martyn, Gary Kelly and Ian Harte.

The nominations are completed by Phillips, Liverpool defender Sami Hyypia and Arsenal midfielder Patrick Vieira.

PFA divisional teams of the year:

Premiership: Martyn (Leeds), Kelly (Leeds), Stam (Man Utd), Hyypia (Liverpool), Harte (Leeds), Keane (Man Utd), Beckham (Man Utd), Kewell (Leeds), Vieira (Arsenal), Phillips (Sunderland), Cole (Man Utd).

Division One: Wright (Ipswich), Rowett (Birmingham), Rufus (Charlton), Coleman (Fulham), Powell (Charlton), Kinsella (Charlton), Hignett (Barnsley), Kennedy (Man City), Robinson (Charlton), Hunt (Charlton), Stewart (Ipswich).

Division Two: Carroll (Wigan), Alexander (Preston), Davis (Burnley), Jackson (Preston), Bell (Bristol City), Gregan (Preston), Caskey (Reading), Little (Burnley), Kavanagh (Stoke), Roberts (Bristol Rovers), Macken (Preston).

Division Three: Pollitt (Rotherham), Hendon (Northampton), Bound (Swansea), Liddle (Darlington), Lockwood (Leyton Orient), Currie (Barnet), Miller (Hartlepool), Heaney (Darlington), Cusack (Swansea), Gabbiadini (Darlington), Barker (Macclesfield).

Search BBC News Online

Advanced search options
Launch console
See also:

29 Apr 00 | Football
Keane is player of the year
29 Apr 00 | FA Carling Premiership
Red cards spark Man Utd win
29 Apr 00 | FA Carling Premiership
Arsenal's roll continues
28 Apr 00 | Football
Kewell cleared by Uefa
30 Apr 00 | FA Carling Premiership
Owls stuffed by rejuvenated Leeds
29 Apr 00 | FA Carling Premiership
Weah gives Liverpool the Blues
30 Apr 00 | FA Carling Premiership
Wimbledon suffer agony at Bradford
Links to other FA Carling Premiership stories are at the foot of the page.