BBC Homepage World Service Education
BBC Homepagelow graphics version | feedback | help
BBC News Online
 You are in: Sport: Football
Front Page 
UK Politics 
Talking Point 
In Depth 
Friday, 26 May, 2000, 07:59 GMT 08:59 UK
Man Utd win world team award
Sir Alex receives the award with Giggs and Johnsen
Sir Alex receives the award with Giggs and Johnsen
Manchester United have added the World Team of the Year title to their already-bursting trophy room.

Manager Sir Alex Ferguson, together with players Ryan Giggs and Ronny Johnsen collected the prize at the inaugural Laureus Sports Awards in Monaco.

United collected the silver trophy at the ceremony, which has been dubbed sports' Oscars, in recognition of their historic treble success last season, when they won the Premiership title, the FA Cup and the Champions League.

Ferguson, Johnsen and Giggs received the award from former Olympic champion Ed Moses at the glittering showbusiness event at the Sporting Club in Monte Carlo.

I think what they achieved last year will never be done again, so that's special

Sir Alex Ferguson

And Ferguson believed the award was deserved.

He said: "It's a wonderful achievement to be part of a team of excellence.

"When you are recognised by so many people for such an auspicious award as this, you can only be pleased and proud of the team.

"I've said it many times and they deserve this recognition.


"I think what they achieved last year will never be done again, so that's special.

"Only when you are the coach can you really appreciate what they have achieved.

"When the game is in full flow you can understand the feeling I get.

"It's marvellous for them and they have distinguished themselves as a sports team."

Sir Alex: We deserved it
Sir Alex: We deserved it
United beat off the challenges of Australia's World Cup-winning rugby union side and the United States women's football team, who also won their World Cup last year.

More than 200 journalists from around the world voted.

The top accolades of World Sportsman of the Year and World Sportswoman of the Year went to American golfer Tiger Woods and American athlete Marion Jones respectively.

Spanish golfer Sergio Garcia had picked up the first award of the night when he won the World Newcomer of the Year prize and football legend Pele was given a lifetime achievement award.

The other winners were: American cyclist Lance Armstrong (World Comeback of the Year); American multi-discipline athlete Shaun Palmer (Alternative Sportsperson of the Year); Australian wheelchair athlete Louise Sauvage (Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability).

Search BBC News Online

Advanced search options
Launch console
Football Contents

See also:

24 May 00 | Spain
Man Utd linked with Canizares
25 May 00 | England
Keegan hails Macca Euro display
Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites