Europe South Asia Asia Pacific Americas Middle East Africa BBC Homepage World Service Education
BBC Homepagelow graphics version | feedback | help
BBC News Online
 You are in: Sport: Cricket
Front Page 
UK Politics 
Talking Point 
In Depth 
Friday, 31 March, 2000, 19:29 GMT 20:29 UK
Pakistan take Sharjah glory

Pakistan's openers made a superb start

Pakistan (263-6) bt South Africa (247ao)

Pakistan won a high-scoring Sharjah Cup final over, thanks to a 69 from teenage opener Imran Nazir and four wickets from Waqar Younis.

South African were set a demanding total and after losing early wickets could not keep up with the rate.

Waqar crucially removed danger-man Lance Klusener first ball, as he ended with four for 62.

Mark Boucher's late flurry gave the South Africans hope but Waqar produced a superb yorker with his last delivery to help Pakistan to their victory.

Pakistan's opening pair of Shaihd Afridi and 18-year-old Imran Nazir had given them a perfect start to the final, with a 123-run stand in 21.1 overs.

Inzaman Ul-Haq added a third 50 in the Pakistani innings after skipper Moin Khan won the toss for the fifth time in a row.

Klusener celebrates a stunning Kallis catch to dismiss Shahid
Imran smashed 69 off 90 balls, including two sixes off Shaun Pollock and Derek Crookes.

Shahid took only 48 balls for his 52 which included five fours and one six.

It needed a stunning diving catch to remove Shaid, who skied Klusener to deep mid-off, where Jacques Kallis took a divising effort as he ran backwards.

Crookes then gained revenge over Imran before Younis Khan was claimed by Klusener as South Africa fought back into the game.

Teenager Imran reaches 50

After three wickets for 16 runs Inzamam-ul Haq and Yousuf Youhana steadied the ship, adding 65 runs before Kallis dismissed Yousef and then Moin in the 43rd over.

Inzamam and Abdur Razzaq opened up towards the close as Pakistan rattled up 43 runs in the last five overs.

South Africa's reply did not enjoy the good start of their opponents wirth Wasim Akram striking early to remove Herschelle Gibbs for five.

Herschelle Gibbs: Dismissed by Wasim for just five
Kallis' dismissal left the innings at 30 for two as the all-rounder was caught behind off Mohammed Akram.

But skipper Cronje and opener McKenzie rescued their side with a stand worth 105 runs in just over 20 overs, thanks mainly to the captain's 79.

Cronje's involvement ended when Younis Khan took the catch off Arshad Khan, who soon bowled Crookes for just one run.

A second regrouping saw Mark Boucher join McKenzie before the opener's dismissal for 58 sparked a mini-collapse.

With the score 198 for four, Arshad was the bowler again as Mohammed Khan took the catch.

Within five balls it was 199 for seven as Waqar Younis removed Nicky Boje and the dangerous Klusener in successive balls.

Boucher effort

Boucher and new batsmen Pollock counter-attacked Waqar, helping themselves to 25 off the next four overs.

But the Pakistani paceman had the last laugh, with a slower ball bowling Pollock and exposing the South African tail.

The South Africans now needed 40 runs off the final five overs.

It proved beyond Steve Elworthy and Boucher, despite the wicket-keeper's best efforts.

He hit 11 runs off one Waqar over, and Elworthy added a single, before Waqar's revenge came as he produced his trademark off stump yorker.

The keeper returned to a standing ovation having made 57 off 49 balls.

Nantie Hayward joined Elworthy and made four before going for a big hit off Abdur Razzaq with one over remaining.

The tail-ender was clean bowled and the Pakistani celebrations began.


Pakistan won toss and batted.


Imran Nazir st Mark Boucher b Derek Crookes 69
Shahid Afridi c Jacques Kallis b Lance Klusener 52
Younis Khan lbw b Klusener 4
Inzamam ul-Haq b Shaun Pollock 53
Yousuf Youhana c Hansie Cronje b Kallis 26
Moin Khan lbw b Kallis 2
Abdur Razzaq not out 28
Wasim Akram not out 5

Extras (w 10, nb 4, lb 10): 24

Total (50 overs) 263 for six

Did not bat: Waqar Younis, Mohammed Akram, Arshad Khan.

Fall of wickets: 1-123, 2-135, 3-139, 4-204, 5-209, 6-256.

Bowling: Shaun Pollock 10-1-54-1, Nantie Hayward 9-0-52-0, Jacques Kallis 10-0-57-2, Steve Elworthy 3-0-21-0, Lance Klusener 10-1-27-2, Derek Crookes 5-0-20-0, Hansie Cronje 3-0-22-0.

South Africa

Herschelle Gibbs c Inzamam-ul-Haq b Wasim Akram 5
Neil McKenzie c Mohammad Akram b Arshad Khan 58
Jacques Kallis c Moin Khan b Mohammad Akram 11
Hansie Cronje c Younis Khan b Arshad Khan 79
Derek Crookes b Arshad Khan 1
Mark Boucher b Waqar Younis 57
Nicky Boje c Moin Khan b Waqar Younis 0
Lance Klusener b Waqar Younis 0
Shaun Pollock b Waqar Younis 14
Steve Elworthy not out 5
Nantie Hayward b Abdur Razzaq 4

Extras (lb 6, w 4, nb 3) 13

Total (49 overs) 247 all out

Fall of wickets: 1-12 , 2-30, 3-135, 4-137, 5-198, 6-199, 7-199, 8-224, 9-239

Bowling: Wasim Akram 9-2-23-1, Waqar Younis 10-0-62-4, Mohammad Akram 9-0-42-1, Abdur Razzaq 9-0-33-1, Shahid Afridi 40-30-0, Arshad Khan 8-0-51-3

Search BBC News Online

Advanced search options
Launch console
Cricket Contents

See also:

31 Mar 00 | Cricket
Kiwis rocked by Aussie pace pair
28 Mar 00 | Cricket
Shoaib destroys South Africans
27 Mar 00 | Cricket
SA romp into Sharjah final
26 Mar 00 | Cricket
Inzamam inspires Pakistan win
24 Mar 00 | Cricket
Klusener punishes Pakistan
23 Mar 00 | Cricket
Pakistan flop against India
Links to other Cricket stories are at the foot of the page.