Europe South Asia Asia Pacific Americas Middle East Africa BBC Homepage World Service Education

Front Page



UK Politics







Talking Point

In Depth

On Air

Low Graphics

Thursday, May 27, 1999 Published at 13:12 GMT 14:12 UK

Indian record-breakers crush holders

Dravid celebrates his second century of the World Cup

Ind 373-6. Sri L 216 all out
India win by 157 runs

Full Scorecard

India set a batting world record before beating Sri Lanka by 157 runs to knock the defending champions out of the World Cup.

Rahul Dravid and Saurav Ganguly put on 318 for the second wicket - an all-time best in one-day internationals - as India amassed a huge score, which their opponents never looked capable of making.

Alastair Hicknell: "England have a job on their hands if they want to beat India"
The pair came together at six for one, and were not separated until they had reached 324.

Even then it took a borderline run out decision to remove Dravid for 145 and end a second wicket partnership which beat the previous record by 49 runs.

[ image: The two record-breakers celebrate their achievement]
The two record-breakers celebrate their achievement
That was also set by India when Mohammad Azharuddin and Ajay Jadeja put on 275 for the fourth wicket against Zimbabwe in Cuttack in 1997/8.

Ganguly was eventually dismissed off the penultimate delivery of the innings for 183.

The 158-ball effort included 17 fours and seven sixes, at least one of which landed in the River Tone behind the pavilion.

He had narrowly missed Saeed Anwar's world record individual score by just 11 runs but had beaten the previous Indian best of 175 set by Kapil Dev.

The record World Cup score of 188 was also tantalisingly within reach when he holed out to mid on.

Dravid double

Dravid's innings was also a career best score to follow the 104 not out he scored in the previous Group A game against Kenya.

[ image: Sri Lankan skipper Ranatunga had plenty to think about]
Sri Lankan skipper Ranatunga had plenty to think about
The 145 off 129 balls, featured one six and 17 fours. It also put him in the World Cup record books as only the second player to score centuries in successive games.

Australia's Mark Waugh did the same in the 1996 tournament, but he did not have to follow the efforts by keeping wicket.

Dravid did that in the absence of the injured Nayan Mongia as Sri Lanka slumped to their fate.

They had started the day well with Chaminda Vaas producing a superb outswinging delivery to bowl Sadagopan Ramesh with the fifth ball of the day.

But that simply brought the two record-breakers together and they immdeiately started piling on the runs, including 15 off Pramodya Wickremasinghe's first over.

Punishment handed out evenly

That bowler managed to recover sufficiently to end with three for 65 as wickets were lost late on.

But seam-bowling colleagues Vaas and Eric Upushanthawere not so fortunate.

[ image: Another sweet stroke from Dravid]
Another sweet stroke from Dravid
They took one wicket each as they went for more than eight an over while spinner Muttiah Muralitharan conceded 60 runs in his 10 overs without a single success.

The crowd was packed with tricolour-draped Indian supporters, who went delirious as the ball hit the boundary all around the ground.

Their effort was a triumph for timing and finding gaps in the field, although Sri Lanka's out-cricket was also found wanting and a series of misfields clearly angered captain Arjuna Ranatunga.

The closing stages eventually saw wickets falling, but it also featured a flurry of runs as the total was built remorselessly.

Holders unable to make it

[ image: Ganguly reaches 150]
Ganguly reaches 150
Sri Lankan knew as they started their reply that they would have to score quickly, but they were unable to do so without losing early wickets.

Sanath Jayasuriya, yet to fire in the World Cup after being voted man of the 1996 tournament, was run out with five on the board.

It was soon 79 for four and the game was virtually over. Aravinda de Silva made 56 and Rantunga 42 as the Indians in the crowd began celebrating victory with 20 overs still to bat out.

Robin Singh eventually took five for 31 as India gained revenge for the semi-final defeat by Sri Lanka in Calcutta three years ago.

But his efforts were overshadowed by what had gone before and it was nosurprise when Ganguly was named man of the match.

- Group A: Sri Lanka v India
26 May 99 at Taunton

India beat Sri Lanka by 157 runs Scorecard correct at 17:17 GMT 18:17 UK

Sri Lanka 216 all out (42.3overs)
India 373 for 6 (50overs) , overs completed

Sri Lanka innings
Batsman     Runs Balls 4s 6s
ST Jayasuriya run out 3 7 - -
RS Kaluwitharana lbw b Srinath 7 15 1 -
MS Atapattu lbw b Mohanty 29 29 5 -
PA de Silva lbw b Singh 56 74 7 -
DPM Jayawardene lbw b Kumble 4 5 1 -
A Ranatunga b Singh 42 57 7 -
RS Mahanama run out 32 45 3 -
WPUJC Vaas c Ramesh b Singh 1 4 - -
EA Upashantha c Azharuddin b Singh 5 17 - -
GP Wickramasinghe not out 2 6 - -
M Muralitharan c Tendulkar b Singh 4 3 1 -
Extras 4b 12lb 8w 7nb 31
TOTAL: 42.3 overs 216

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (5 Jayasuriya, 9 mins), 2-23 (18 Kaluwitharana, 10 mins), 3-74 (51 Atapattu, 39 mins), 4-79 (5 Jayawardene, 4 mins), 5-147 (68 de Silva, 61 mins), 6-181 (34 Ranatunga, 21 mins), 7-187 (6 Vaas, 4 mins), 8-203 (16 Upashantha, 13 mins), 9-204 (1 Mahanama, 17 mins), 10-216 (12 Muralitharan, 4 mins)

Bowler O M R W
J Srinath 7 0 33 1
Venkatesh Prasad 8 0 41 0
D S Mohanty 5 0 31 1
A Kumble 8 0 27 1
S C Ganguly 5 0 37 0
R R Singh 9.3 0 31 5
India innings
Batsman     Runs Balls 4s 6s
S Ramesh b Vaas 5 4 1 -
SC Ganguly c Sub b Wickramasinghe 183 158 16 7
RS Dravid run out 145 129 17 1
SR Tendulkar b Jayasuriya 2 3 - -
AD Jadeja c & b Wickramasinghe 5 4 - -
RR Singh c de Silva b Wickramasinghe 0 1 - -
M Azharuddin not out 12 7 - -
J Srinath not out 0 - - -
Extras 0b 3lb 12w 6nb 21
TOTAL: 6 wkts, 50 overs 373

Fall of wickets: 1-6 (6 Ramesh, 2 mins), 2-324 (318 Dravid, 179 mins), 3-344 (20 Tendulkar, 15 mins), 4-349 (5 Jadeja, 1 mins), 5-349 (0 Singh, - mins), 6-372 (23 Ganguly, 32 mins) Did not bat: A Kumble, Venkatesh Prasad, D S Mohanty

Bowler O M R W
W P U J C Vaas 10 0 84 1
E A Upashantha 10 0 80 0
G P Wickramasinghe 10 0 65 3
M Muralitharan 10 0 60 0
D P M Jayawardene 3 0 21 0
S T Jayasuriya 3 0 37 1
P A de Silva 4 0 23 0

Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to field

Umpires: R S Dunne, D R Shepherd

Sri Lanka
S T Jayasuriya , R S Mahanama , M S Atapattu , P A de Silva , A Ranatunga (capt) , D P M Jayawardene , R S Kaluwitharana (wkt) , W P U J C Vaas , E A Upashantha , G P Wickramasinghe , M Muralitharan ,

S Ramesh , S C Ganguly , R S Dravid (wkt) , S R Tendulkar , M Azharuddin (capt) , A D Jadeja , R R Singh , A Kumble , J Srinath , Venkatesh Prasad , D S Mohanty ,

Advanced options | Search tips

Back to top | BBC News Home | BBC Homepage |

BBC Cricket World Cup Homepage
Team Homepages
- Live Audio
- Teams
- Schedule
- Results
- League Tables
- Features
- Grounds
- Competition
- Learn To Play
- Feedback