[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Languages
Last Updated: Wednesday, 14 September 2005, 11:10 GMT 12:10 UK
My Day in Afghanistan: School students
As part of the BBC News website's One Day in Afghanistan coverage on 13 September, we heard from people from all walks of life, all over the country.

Here you can read more from sisters Raziya (14) and Yasamin (15) - two school students in Kabul - who talk about their daily routines, problems, and hopes for the future.


My name is Raziya, and I attend school every day from 8am to 3pm in Kabul. I get home at about 4pm and eat a snack - some rice and cheese - before doing my homework.

Yasamin and Raziya
Yasamin and Raziya both want to work in a hospital
Today I studied music and my homework is for my spelling class tomorrow.

At school, my favourite subject is science. I want to be a doctor when I leave school, to treat the sick.

I live with my mother, father, three brothers, six sisters, one niece and two nephews.

Another of my favourite pastimes is football. I want to play every day, but I mainly play on Fridays with a girls' team. I really badly want to be in the best team, and to win!

Do the boys mind that we play football? They don't know!

Before, when the Taleban were in power, there were stories that they would kidnap children and cut off their fingers so their parents would pay them money - $200, $300.

Now it's OK. Children are going to school, there is more medical help available.

Hi, I am Yasamin. I attend school like Raziya - in fact, we're in the same class.

Like her, I come home every day and eat before doing my homework. I need to do a lot of homework, so I will pass my tests. I want to work in a hospital, but although I leave school next year and I've been looking for job opportunities, I haven't found any yet.

MORE AFGHAN DAILY LIVES

My family were in exile in Pakistan during the rule of the Taleban, and we only returned three years ago, after they fell. My parents made carpets in Pakistan, and all of my sisters and brothers were born there.

Now my father is jobless. My two older brothers, who are 22 and 25, make doors for houses for a living.

Life isn't easy. My brothers both work, but between them they only make enough money to allow us to eat.

We all live together in the same house - my mother, father, all my brothers, sisters, and my niece and three nephews. My mother would really like another house, but it's impossible.

It's also difficult for us as girls. Walking in the streets is very bad. The boys really bother the girls. Sometimes they will force them into their cars, other times they will steal things from them.




PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific