Page last updated at 04:15 GMT, Saturday, 29 August 2009 05:15 UK

Space shuttle lifts off for ISS

Advertisement

Nasa has launched the US shuttle Discovery for a mission to the International Space Station (ISS).

It lifted off from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida at 2359 EDT Friday (0359 GMT Saturday).

Two previous attempts to launch the orbiter had been postponed by a mix of bad weather and a technical glitch affecting its main propulsion system.

Discovery's mission will be the 30th flight dedicated to ISS maintenance, transporting research material.

SEE ALSO

Story Tools

BBC iD

Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific