Page last updated at 16:24 GMT, Monday, 6 April 2009 17:24 UK

BBC science wins 'Arthur' awards

US astronaut Richard Garriott
Garriott became the second individual to wear the Union flag in space

The BBC has won two Sir Arthur C Clarke awards for its coverage of space.

BBC Four documentary The Satellite Story was handed an award for the best TV or radio presentation.

The BBC News science team, which produces this news service, also bagged a prize at Saturday night's ceremony for its space reporting.

The "Arthurs", as they have become known, were given out at the end of the four-day UK Space Conference in Godalming, Surrey.

The prizes were set up to recognise UK achievements towards the advancement of space exploration, including the public understanding of it.

British-born space tourist Richard Garriott, who visited the International Space Station in October 2008, won the award for best individual achievement.

Science Minister Lord Drayson took the inspiration award. Amongst other things, Lord Drayson has championed the idea of scientific "icons", including a British astronaut.

The Satellite Story, produced and directed by Dan Walker, explored how activities in Earth's orbit have affected almost every aspect of our everyday lives.

It told the story of satellites from the Soviet Union's Sputnik launch in 1957, through the communications revolution kick-started by Telstar to the present day.

The BBC News science team won the award for best space reporting. The organisers' nomination cited Paul Rincon in particular, along with Jonathan Amos, Pallab Ghosh, Christine McGourty and James Morgan.

Professor Fred Taylor, from Oxford University, received the Lifetime Achievement award. Professor Taylor has worked on a range of planetary missions, including Esa's Venus Express mission and on Nasa's Galileo spacecraft sent to Jupiter.

Alastair Scott, adviser in PR and communications to industrial contractor EADS Astrium, got a special award for his contribution to promoting UK space.

Nominations are submitted by the public and winners are voted for by representatives of the space industry, research institutions and universities, and space-related organisations.

The annual UK Space Conference ran from 1-4 April at Charterhouse School.

Winners at the Sir Arthur C Clarke awards
The winners received glass monoliths, recalling Clarke's classic 2001 story

Print Sponsor

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific