Europe South Asia Asia Pacific Americas Middle East Africa BBC Homepage World Service Education

Front Page



UK Politics







Talking Point

In Depth

On Air

Low Graphics

Thursday, March 25, 1999 Published at 07:17 GMT


BBC News Online scoops press prize

BBC News Online has been named best Internet news service in a new category at the British Press Awards.

It is the site's fifth major prize since launch 16 months ago.

Last year, News Online won the first Interactive Bafta awarded by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts.

After the British Press award was presented on Wednesday evening to the site's Project Director, Bob Eggington, Mike Smartt, the site's Executive Editor, said it was a welcome reward for two years' hard work by the service's dedicated team of journalists, web developers, graphic designers and technicians.

"It is always good to be recognised by one's fellows in the industry, " he said.

News Online has won three other awards since launch: a Financial Times award in the category for sites in the public sector, Site of the Year by Internet Magazine and the British Interactive Media prize for top information site.

Guardian acclaimed

It was a good night for The Guardian, too, which was named Newspaper of the Year and also won the Scoop of the Year award for an investigation into a faked Carlton Television drugs documentary.

Its financial editor Alex Brummer took the Financial Journalist of the Year prize.

Mazher Mahmood of the News of the World won Reporter of the Year for his expose of two directors of Newcastle United Football Club.

The winners announced by the Press Gazette British Press Awards at London's Hilton Hotel on Wednesday night were:

  • Online Service of the Year - BBC News Online
  • Newspaper of the Year - The Guardian
  • Sports Reporter of the Year - Michael Calvin, Mail on Sunday
  • Specialist Reporter of the Year - Brian Deer, Sunday Times
  • Foreign Reporter of the Year - John Lichfield, Independent on Sunday
  • Reporter of the Year - Mazher Mahmood, News of the World
  • Critic of the Year - Charles Spencer, Daily Telegraph
  • Feature Writer of the Year - Deborah Ross, Independent
  • Columnist of the Year - Rebecca Tyrrel, Sunday Telegraph
  • Financial Journalist of the Year - Alex Brummer, The Guardian
  • Business Journalist of the Year - Neil Bennett, Sunday Telegraph
  • Cartoonist of the Year - Mac Pritchett, The Daily Mail
  • Sports Photographer of the Year - Ian Rutherford, The Scotsman
  • Photographer of the Year - Jeremy Selwyn, Evening Standard
  • Scoop of the Year - Michael Sean Gillard and Laurie Flynn, The Guardian
  • Team Reporters of the Year - The Mirror
  • Supplement of the Year - Megat, The Times
  • Young Journalist of the Year - Burhan Wazir, The Observer
  • Press Gazette Gold Award - David Chipp, former Press Association editor, for services to journalism.

Advanced options | Search tips

Back to top | BBC News Home | BBC Homepage | ©

Sci/Tech Contents

Relevant Stories

01 Dec 98 | Sci/Tech
BBC News Online wins FT award

18 Nov 98 | Sci/Tech
BBC News Online named Site of the Year

29 Oct 98 | Entertainment
Bafta victory for BBC News Online

In this section

World's smallest transistor

Scientists join forces to study Arctic ozone

Mathematicians crack big puzzle

From Business
The growing threat of internet fraud

Who watches the pilots?

From Health
Cold 'cure' comes one step closer