[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Wednesday, 3 May 2006, 15:22 GMT 16:22 UK
This week's panel
Question Time, the BBC's premier political programme, will be in London on Thursday, 4 May, 2006.

Joining David Dimbleby for the interactive debate will be environment secretary Margaret Beckett MP, shadow foreign secretary William Hague MP, chief secretary to the Treasury for the Liberal Democrats Julia Goldsworthy MP, and Richard Littlejohn of the Daily Mail.

Margaret Beckett MP

Title: Secretary of State for the Department of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Career: Margaret Beckett was appointed secretary of state for the Department of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs in June 2001.

Text your comments to 83981
Read comments on Ceefax page 155
Send and read comments on the website
Before entering Parliament she trained as a metallurgist.

She is the only woman to have served in the cabinet for the entire nine years of Tony Blair's government, in roles such as trade and industry secretary and leader of the House of Commons.

William Hague MP

Title: Shadow Foreign Secretary

Career: William Hague made a return to front bench politics last year as a senior member of David Cameron's team.

He was leader of the opposition from 1997 to 2001, and served in John Major's government as secretary of state for Wales and minister for pensions.

He is perhaps best known for his skill in parliamentary debates.

Julia Goldsworthy MP

Title: Liberal Democrat Chief Secretary to the Treasury

Career: Julia Goldsworthy was rapidly promoted this year to the Liberal Democrat treasury team.

She was elected to parliament last year at the age of 26 and overturned a Labour majority in Falmouth and Camborne.

Julia recently competed in a Channel 4 reality sports show.

Richard Littlejohn

Title: Columnist, the Daily Mail

Career: Richard Littlejohn rejoined the Daily Mail in March, having previously written columns for the Sun and London's Evening Standard.

In 1997 he was named "Columnist of the Year" at the British Press Awards.

His columns regularly attract controversy and he was voted "Irritant of the Year" at the 1992 What the Papers Say awards.

BBC One's Question Time is broadcast on Thursdays at 2235 GMT.


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific