[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Tuesday, 4 January 2005, 17:47 GMT
Information and transcripts
On the pages below you will find information on the programmes that have been broadcast so far in 2005.

Programme transcripts can be located on each page.


Money Box, Saturday, 31 December, 2005

The growing wealth of women. Plus: women-only financial products; women's pensions, and a scheme to cut childcare costs.


Money Box Live, Monday, 19 December, 2005

Paul Lewis took your calls and e-mails on saving for children and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 17 December, 2005

Could a 'landmark' case reduce the tax bill for thousands of similar firms? Plus: pension protection; Pension Credit; property tribunals; splits compensation and a new charities website.


Money Box Live, Monday, 12 December, 2005

Paul Lewis and a panel of guests answered your questions on managing your finances as a couple.


Money Box, Saturday, 10 December, 2005

In a special Money Box programme we gathered the experts to examine the Pre-Budget Report and its implications for you.


Money Box Live, Monday, 5 December, 2005

Vincent Duggleby and a panel of expert guests answered your questions on general insurance.


Money Box, Saturday, 3 December, 2005

An expert panel discusses the Turner proposal for a national savings scheme. Plus: O2 shareholder confusion; concerns over new home 'inspections'; the 2005 Pre Budget report (as a web exclusive), victory for fraud victims, and Equitable drops directors claim.


Money Box Live, Monday, 28 November, 2005

Paul Lewis and a panel of expert guests were here to take your calls on borrowing money and managing debt.


Money Box, Saturday, 26 November, 2005

Turner report, Standard Life windfalls, credit card cheques; safety deposit boxes; should you marry a friend?, and credit union changes.


Money Box, Monday, 21 November, 2005

Vincent Duggleby took listeners' questions on wills and inheritance tax and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 19 November, 2005

Speculation mounts over the Pensions Commission report. Plus: Annuity delays, Direct Payment, Equitable Life, and sending money abroad.


Money Box Live, Monday, 14 November, 2005

Vincent Duggleby and a panel of expert guests answered listeners' mortgage questions


Money Box, Saturday, 12 November, 2005

Were millions of people wrongly advised to leave the safety of the government's state second pension and buy a risky stock market based alternative instead? Plus: Flood protection, mobile banking, and a redundancy payments warning.


Money Box Live, Monday 7 November, 2005

Vincent Duggleby took your saving and investing questions and put them to the experts on Monday's programme.


Money Box, Saturday, 5 November, 2005

The sixth man in eight years at top of the DWP. Plus: shares; loans for low-income people; the 'pension crisis' and insurance mis-selling.


Money Box Live, Monday, 31 October, 2005

Paul Lewis and a panel of experts answered your pension questions on Monday's programme.


Money Box, Saturday, 29 October, 2005

Civil partnership pros and cons. Plus: Tax credits; commonhold; home credit, and splits compensation.


Money Box Live, Monday 24 October, 2005

Paul Lewis took your questions on "equity release", which means using the value of your home to provide an income during your retirement.


Money Box, Saturday, 22 October, 2005

Public sector pensions deal, Standard Life demutualisation, endowment complaint handlers, regular savings accounts, and a council tax benefit initiative.


Money Box Live, Monday, 17 October, 2005

To coincide with the start of National Giving Week, Paul Lewis took your questions on Giving to Charity and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 15 October, 2005

Chip and pin 'deadline', bank prices, Driving Other Cars (DOC) insurance, Halifax agent's investment scam, millions on wrong tax code.


Money Box Live, Monday, 10 October, 2005

A panel of expert guests answered your questions on credit reports.


Money Box, Saturday, 8 October, 2005

Anger at Pension Protection Fund, Card providers up rates and charges, Concern over debt 'charging orders', Soccer Sipp offer to fans.


Money Box Live, Monday, 3 October, 2005

Paul Lewis took your questions on benefits and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 1 October, 2005

Fears are growing that a relaxation in pension rules in 2006 could lead to a mis-selling scandal unless action is taken. Plus: Customer frustration with ICICI bank, how to keep your energy bills down, new Post Office credit card, and premium bonds.


Money Box Live, Monday, 26 September, 2005

Vincent Duggleby took your questions on student finance and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 24 September, 2005

What effect will the delay in council tax revaluations have on people's bills? Plus: Citizen's Pension, Rising mortgage costs, Equitable Life, and a new Barclaycard.


Money Box Live, Monday, 19 September, 2005

Vincent Duggleby took your questions on buying or selling your home and put them to panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 17 September, 2005

Are there plans to scrap council tax revaluation? Plus: PPI inquiry call; store cards; inflation; stakeholder savings; Midshires closures, and tax credits.


Money Box Live, Monday, 12 September, 2005

Vincent Duggleby and two experts took any questions you had on tax and self-assessment.


Money Box, Saturday, 10 September, 2005

Tax reform; Fidelity fund splits; Tax Credits; Shell bans cheques; DWP launches public opinion site, and Revenue hands back stamp duty interest.


Money Box Live, Monday 5 September, 2005

Vincent Duggleby took your questions on saving and investing and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 3 September, 2005

Britain's economic outlook after Katrina; Pension assistance scheme begins work; Credit card clampdown, and concern over pension investment.


BBC Radio 4's Money Box was off air for six weeks over the summer.


Money Box Live, Monday, 18 July, 2005

Paul Lewis took your questions on investing in shares and put them to the experts on Monday's programme.


Money Box, Saturday, 16 July, 2005

Pensions reform; age discrimination; Post Office cash machines; National Grid Transco shares; stock markets and investments.


Money Box Live, Monday, 11 July, 2005

Paul Lewis and his panel of experts took your questions on mortgages.


Money Box, Saturday, 9 July, 2005

City action after bombings; Indian bank lures UK savers; Splits compensation deadline looms; YBS offers divorce mortgage; Splits compensation deadline looms; YBS offers divorce mortgage.


Money Box Live, Monday, 4 July, 2005

Paul Lewis took your questions on maternity and paternity rights and benefits, and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 2 July, 2005

The cost of buying a personal pension will rise under plans to relax the rules about how they are sold, the financial regulator predicts.

Plus: Chief Ombudsman Walter Merricks on endowment cases; NU with-profits; Sharia-compliant CTFs; Revenue targets offshore savings.


Money Box Live, Monday, 27 June, 2005

Paul Lewis took your questions on credit cards and other borrowing and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 25 June, 2005

The future of tax credits, Pensions Commission, overseas call centre security, Solo card.


Money Box Live, Monday, 20 June, 2005

Paul Lewis took your questions on the Child Trust Fund and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 18 June, 2005

We examine controversial Pension Protection Fund plans. Plus: Pension Credit concerns; financial education for children; premium bonds; First Direct text alerts, and Equitable sells Gainsborough portrait.


Money Box Live, Monday, 13 June, 2005

Vincent Duggleby and a panel of experts answered your questions on holiday and travel finance issues.


Money Box, Saturday, 11 June, 2005

Insurers merge in 1.8bn deal; universities tackle fee confusion; concern over 'split-cap' compensation claims; IF credit card to close; interest on legal aid to rise, and a new children's savings account.


Money Box Live, Monday, 6 June, 2005

Vincent Duggleby took your saving and investing questions and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 4 June, 2005

Tax credit overpayments; Funeral cost anguish for low income families; retiring at 75; savings accounts for the elderly.


Money Box, Saturday, 28 May, 2005

Banks agree to quicker transfers; FSA fines Abbey 800,000; Warning on equity release; Community Investment Scheme; Bristol & West sells branches for 150m; Fines aim to cut phone 'slamming'.


Money Box, Saturday, 21 May, 2005

Homeowners face document worry; Call for long-term care reform; "Phishing" slows online banking; Call for change to doorstep lending, Queen's speech.


Money Box Investigates: The Sins of Commission, Tuesday, 17 May, 2005

Paul Lewis examines the case for reforming the very system that underpins financial advice in the UK.


Money Box Live, Monday, 16 May, 2005

Paul Lewis took your questions on your rights at work and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 14 May, 2005

BBA rejects shared bank proposal; Buy-to-let schemes shut down; hedge funds, and IFA imposes regulation fee.


Money Box Live, Monday, 9 May, 2005

Vincent Duggleby and a panel of experts were here to give you advice on your occupational pension.


Money Box, Saturday, 7 May, 2005

Election 2005; Mother wins landmark pay case; Goldfish credit changes; Norwich Union refunds customers; Norwich Union refunds customers, and Children's savings.


Money Box Live, Monday, 2 May, 2005

Paul Lewis and a panel of experts took your questions on your credit file.


Money Box, Saturday, 30 April, 2005

The rising cost of switching mortgages; travel insurance worry; trading endowment policies; endowment action firms, and new unit trust rules.


Money Box Live, Monday, 25 April, 2005

Vincent Duggleby and a panel of experts took your questions on mortgages.


Money Box, Saturday, 23 April, 2005

Party pension policies, mortgage interest rates, Lloyds TSB bank charges.


Money Box Live, Monday, 18 April, 2005

Vincent Duggleby and his panel of experts took your calls on the financial aspects of getting divorced.


Money Box, Saturday, 16 April, 2005

Mortgage aid for Rover workers, new pension rules, share scam warning, insurance for young professionals, credit card balance transfers.


Money Box Live, Monday, 11 April, 2005

Paul Lewis took any questions you had on benefits and put it to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 9 April, 2005

Clearing times, Pension Protection Fund, Financial Assistance Scheme, mobile post offices, and the impact of the election.


Money Box Live, Monday, 4 April, 2005

Paul Lewis took your questions on student finance, including loans, debts and how to save for your university education.


Money Box, Saturday, 2 April, 2005

Council tax revaluations; MPs report on cash machine charges, 'insurance ISAs' to end, and Child Trust Fund accounts go live.


Money Box Live, Monday, 28 March, 2005

As the end of the financial year approaches, Vincent Duggleby and two experts took your questions on tax.


Money Box, Saturday, 26 March, 2005

New hope in public sector pensions row; Warning over Venture Capital Trusts, Barclaycard Combinations, share clubs, and care home contracts.


Money Box Live, Monday, 21 March, 2005

Vincent Duggleby took your questions on renting and letting.


Money Box, Saturday, 19 March, 2005

The 2005 Budget in detail; Isa rates and budget changes; cycling without insurance; Unmarried co-habiting couple's rights; Pension strike threat lessens.


Budget Call 2005: Thursday, 17 March, 2005

Vincent Duggleby and Paul Lewis took your questions on how this year's Budget affects you.


Money Box, Monday, 14 March, 2005

Vincent Duggleby hosted a programme to discuss some of the economic and fiscal considerations that would shape the 2005 Budget.


Money Box, Saturday, 12 March, 2005

Online loan exchange, Post Office benefit problems, Inheritance tax loophole to close, BBC Cashwise.


Money Box Live, Monday, 7 March, 2005

Vincent Duggleby took your questions on saving and investing and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 5 March, 2005

Exeter investor prospects, call for action on stamp duty, tax credit overpayments, credit history errors, consumer debt, winter fuel deadline.


Money Box Live, Monday, 28 February, 2005

Paul Lewis and a panel of expert guests answered your questions on credit and debt.


Money Box, Saturday, 26 February, 2005

Banking reform, The Financial Assistance Scheme, Labour's pension principles, and Allders store card confusion.


Money Box Live, Monday, 21 February, 2005

Paul Lewis was joined by a panel of expert guests to answer your mortgage questions.


Money Box, Saturday, 19 February, 2005

Public sector pension rallies; Eurolife bond investors face loss; Euro transfers; RSA policy holders moved back into state second pension.


Money Box Live, Monday, 14 February, 2005

Paul Lewis was joined by a panel of expert guests to answer your questions on using the value of your home to provide an income during your retirement.


Money Box, Saturday, 12 February, 2005

'Weak competition' among NI banks; Kent Benefit Partnership; Phone "slamming", basic bank accounts; Allders' jobs and pensions; MPs' warning over energy disconnections.


Money Box Live, Monday, 7 February, 2005

Paul Lewis took your questions on the Child Trust Fund and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 5 February, 2005

FTSE 250 shares reach new high; Work and Pensions Secretary Alan Johnson; Child Trust Funds; and customer redress after Axa fine.


Money Box Live, Monday, 31 January, 2005

On Monday's Money Box Live, Vincent Duggleby took your banking questions and put them to our panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 29 January, 2005

Pension fears for Allders staff; Halifax mortgage letters; cash machine charges; Child Support Agency, and Monday's tax deadline.


Money Box Live, Monday, 24 January, 2005

With the deadline for self assessment forms looming, Vincent Duggleby took your tax questions and put them to a panel of expert guests


Money Box, Saturday, 22 January, 2005

Nics offer; with-profits bonus cuts; tribunal ruling on endowment selling; HSBC increases business charges; Anger at BT late payment fine; Mature student loans.


Money Box Live, Monday, 17 January, 2005

Vincent Duggleby took your questions on insurance and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 15 January, 2005

Child Trust Funds; Insurance regulation; NHS pensions; storm damage claims; Conservative pension plans, MMO2 shares, DWP website problems.


Money Box Live, Monday 10 January, 2005

Vincent Duggleby took your questions on savings and investments and put them to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 8 January, 2005

Endowment complaints; splits compensation; women's car insurance; Canadian credit scam; HSBC computer glitch; tsunami donations and Gift Aid.


Money Box Live, Monday, 3 January, 2005

Paul Lewis presented some of your most frequently asked questions on tax, mortgages, savings, investments, and credit cards, to a panel of expert guests.


Money Box, Saturday, 1 January, 2005

Chip and pin delays; new Adeptra anti-fraud system; investment predictions for 2005, interest-free loans for art.


For programmes pre-2004, please use the Money Box search function on the right hand side of the Money Box website.



Money Box


SEARCH MONEY BOX:
 

Podcast

Download or subscribe to this programme's podcast

Podcast Help



PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific