BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Page last updated at 12:37 GMT, Tuesday, 19 August 2008 13:37 UK

Geert Wilders

Geert Wilders
Leader of the Dutch Party for Freedom, Geert Wilders
In a HARDtalk interview broadcast on 19th August, Stephen Sackur talks to Geert Wilders.

He's a member of the Dutch parliament and is constantly surrounded by bodyguards due to his self-declared "jihad" against Islam.

He's described the faith as "retarded" and rejects the concept of a moderate Islam.

Yet his provocative 2008 film Fitna was called a "damp squib" and polls show his Party for Freedom only commands around six percent support in the Netherlands

Is Geert Wilders really winning the argument?

He talks to Stephen Sackur.

HARDtalk is broadcast on BBC World News at 03:30 GMT, 08:30 GMT, 14:30 GMT, 20:30 GMT and 22:30 GMT

Hardtalk can also be seen on BBC News at 04:30 BST & 23:30 BST.


FEATURES, VIEWS, ANALYSIS
Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit

banner watch listen bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific