BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Page last updated at 10:44 GMT, Thursday, 14 August 2008 11:44 UK

Sergei Ivanov

sergei ivanov
Russian Deputy PM Sergei Ivanov and Prime Minister Putin
In a HARDtalk interview broadcast on 14th August, Stephen Sackur talks to Russia's Deputy Prime Minister about the conflict in Georgia.

It was the most one sided of conflicts.

In five days the Russian military crushed Georgia's armed forces. Georgia's secessionist regions of South Ossetia and Abkhazia are in effect under complete Russian control.

In Tbilisi there is anguish, in Europe and Washington consternation.

In an interview for HARDtalk, Sergei Ivanov, Russia's Deputy Prime Minister tells Stephen Sackur that South Ossetians and Abkhazians must be allowed to determine their own future.

He denied Russian forces were moving further into Georgia and said the comments by Britain's Foreign Secretary about Russia's imperial ambitions were "total rubbish."

HARDtalk is broadcast on BBC World News at 03:30 GMT, 08:30 GMT, 14:30 GMT, 20:30 GMT and 22:30 GMT

Hardtalk can also be seen on BBC News at 04:30 BST & 23:30 BST.


FEATURES, VIEWS, ANALYSIS
Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit

banner watch listen bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific