Other related sites

Page last updated at 14:51 GMT, Friday, 10 February 2012

Do you have the right to be forgotten online?

Advertisement

When you sign up to a social networking site - who owns your data - you or the site?

And if you leave, can you erase that content or do companies like Facebook and Google actually own it?

David Reid reports on the new European Commission directive that aims to put you back in charge of your data.

Follow the Click team on Twitter @BBCClick. And join the conversation on Google+ or Facebook.

SEE ALSO

Story Tools

BBC navigation

BBC © 2013 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific