BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Sunday, 17 February 2008, 11:50 GMT
In pictures: Berlin Film Festival

Sally Hawkins

An awards ceremony rounded off the 58th Berlin Film Festival, with Sally Hawkins winning best actress for Happy-Go-Lucky.

Jose Padilha

Jose Padilha's controversial portrayal of police corruption in Brazil, The Elite Squad, won the Golden Bear for best film.

Errol Morris

Director Errol Morris was runner-up for best film with Standard Operating Procedure, a documentary about Iraq.

Paul Thomas Anderson

There Will Be Blood missed out on best film but Paul Thomas Anderson was named best director for his work on the epic.

Fernando Eimbcke

Mexican director Fernando Eimbcke won the prize for most innovative film, for Lake Tahoe.

Reza Naji

Reza Naji of Iran was best actor in Berlin, having played a long-suffering father in The Song of Sparrows.

Cheng Kaisheng, Liu Weiwei and Wang Xiaoshuai

Wang Xiaoshuai (right) won best script for In Love We Trust and was joined by actors Cheng Kaisheng (left) and Liu Weiwei (centre).

Errol Morris, Sally Hawkins, Jose Padilha and Marcos Prado

Some of the award-winners posed together, including Marcos Prado (right), producer of The Elite Squad.

Golden Bear for 'corruption' film
17 Feb 08 |  Entertainment

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific