BBC NEWS Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific

BBC News World Edition
 You are in: In Depth: Birthday Honours 2000  
News Front Page
Middle East
South Asia
Talking Point
Country Profiles
In Depth
BBC Sport
BBC Weather
Birthday Honours 2000 Friday, 16 June, 2000, 21:06 GMT 22:06 UK
CBEs: A - H
Commander of the British Empire, part of the awards created by King George V in 1917.

John Martin Abbott, QPM Director-general, National Criminal Intelligence Service. For services to the police and to criminal intelligence. (East Sussex)
Peter Vincent Addyman, Director, York Archaeological Trust. For services to archaeology. (York, North Yorkshire)
Professor Robert McNeill Alexander, Former secretary, Zoological Society. For services to zoology. (Leeds, West Yorkshire)
James Iain Walker Anderson, Former special adviser on the Millennium Bug. For services to industry. (Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross)
John William Baker, Chairman, Environment Task Force Advisory Group and member, New Deal Task Force. For services to unemployed people and to educational standards. (Woking, Surrey)
John David William Barnard, Dean, Faculty of Dental Surgery, the Royal College of Surgeons of England. For services to oral surgery and dentistry. (Emsworth, Hampshire)
Professor Janet Margaret Bately, Professor of English, King's College, London. For services to the study of Old and Middle English. (London, W7)
Alexander Scott Bell, Group managing director, Standard Life Assurance Company. For services to the insurance industry in Scotland. (Edinburgh)
Professor Donald Lynden-Bell, Professor of Astrophysics, University of Cambridge. For services to astronomy. (Belfast)
Professor Colin Carmichael Bird, Provost and Dean, Faculty of Medicine, University of Edinburgh. For services to medicine. (Edinburgh)
Alan Birks, Principal, South Birmingham College. For services to further education. (Dudley, West Midlands)
Gautam Govindlal Bodiwala, Consultant, Leicester Royal Infirmary. For services to accident and emergency medicine. (Leicester, Leicestershire)
Frederick Edwin John Gedge Brackenbury, Chairman, Business in Sport and Leisure. For services to tourism, education and employment. (London, SW3)
Mrs Jane Mary Bradford, For services to business in the East Midlands. (Car Colston, Nottinghamshire)
Mrs Gill Denise Brook, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Liver Unit, Birmingham Children's Hospital. For services to health care. (Halesowen, West Midlands)
Geoffrey Keith Bruce, Former chief executive, Pesticides Safety Directorate, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food. (Stillington, North Yorkshire)
Marcus Charles Buck, Chief executive, The Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions. (Near Newent, Gloucestershire)
Willem Hendrik Buiter, For services to economics. (London, E14)
Professor Alexander Cameron, Executive director of Social Work, South Lanarkshire. For services to social work and to the prevention of drug misuse. (East Kilbride, Lanarkshire)
David Ross Campbell, Chairman, Health Education Board for Scotland. For services to health education. (West Kilbride, Ayrshire and Arran)
Robert Trefor Campbell, OBE For services to the food industry. (Lisburn, Antrim)
Professor Peter Burns Carolin, Professor of Architecture, University of Cambridge. For services to architecture. (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire)
Ian George Caulfield, Chief executive, Warwickshire County Council. For services to local government. (Leamington Spa, Warwickshire)
Rodney Frank Chase, Deputy group chief executive, BP Amoco plc. For services to environmental protection. (London, SW1W)
John William Chisholm, For services to the General Practitioners Committee, British Medical Association. (London, SE27)
Robert Clark, Director of Education, Wigan, Merseyside. For services to education. (Wirral, Merseyside)
Robert Joseph Clark, South Eastern Circuit administrator, Court Service Agency, Lord Chancellor's Department. (Sutton, Surrey)
Victor Cocker, Group chief executive, Severn Trent plc. For services to the water industry. (Shipston-on-Stour, Warwickshire)
Miss Suzanna Cooper, For public service. (Belfast)
Ronald Dennis, Chairman and chief executive, TAG McLaren Group. For services to motor sport. (West Byfleet, Surrey)
Henry Andrew Cridland Densham, Joint senior partner, Burges Salmon Solicitors. For services to the agricultural industry. (Bristol)
Andrew William Dilnot, Director, Institute for Fiscal Studies. For services to economics and economic policy. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)
George Neilson Donaldson, For services to the timber industry. (Upper Largo, Fife)
Morrison Alexander Rankin Dunbar, For services to the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama Trust. (Glasgow)
Miss Rosalind Eyben, Former chief social development adviser, Department for International Development. (La Paz, Bolivia)
Professor Ian Fells, Professor of Energy Conversion, University of Newcastle. For services to energy technology and policy. (Newcastle Upon Tyne, Tyne & Wear)
Leonard Raymond Fenwick, Chief executive, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust. For services to the NHS. (Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne & Wear)
Miss Deirdre Christine Fordham, Former divisional manager, Disability Policy Division, Department for Education and Employment. (Colchester, Essex)
William Michael Thomas Fowle, For services to the Business in the Community Partners in Leadership Mentoring Programme. (London, EC1R)
Richard Stanley Francis, OBE Author. For services to literature. (London, EC1R)
Professor Hazel Gillian Genn, For services to research in civil justice. (London, W5)
Mrs Kathleen Margaret Gibbons, Headteacher, St Kentigern's Academy, Bathgate. For services to education. (Carluke, Lanarkshire)
Anthony Arthur Edward Glenton, MBE, TD Chairman, Port of Tyne Authority. For services to the ports industry and to the community in North East England. (Rothbury, Northumberland)
Alastair Ross Goobey, Chief executive, Hermes Pensions Management Ltd. For services to the pensions industry. (London, N1)
Professor Roderic Keith Griffiths, Regional director of Public Health, NHS Executive, Department of Health. (Peopleton, Worcestershire)
George Edwin Guy, Head, Fire Policy Unit, Home Office. (Letchworth, Hertfordshire)
Professor Wendy Hall, Professor of Computer Science, University of Southampton. For services to education and science. (West Wellow, Hampshire)
Anthony Donald Hawkins, Director, Fisheries Research Services Executive Agency, Scottish Executive. (Aberdeen)
Ms Ruth Henig, JP Chair, Association of Police Authorities. For services to the police. (Lancaster, Lancashire)
Peter Michael Homa, Director, Commission for Health Improvement. For services to health care. (Leicester, Leicestershire)
Ms Elizabeth Jane Howard, Author. For services to literature. (London, NW1)

Links to more Birthday Honours 2000 stories are at the foot of the page.

E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Birthday Honours 2000 stories

© BBC ^^ Back to top

News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East |
South Asia | UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature |
Technology | Health | Talking Point | Country Profiles | In Depth |