Page last updated at 16:20 GMT, Thursday, 11 June 2009 17:20 UK

Tax-sharing exchange pact signed

International bank notes
The agreement allows different jurisdictions to share tax information

Jersey has agreed to share tax information with Australia.

The Tax Information Exchange Agreement (TIEA) was signed by Jersey's deputy chief minister at the Australian High Commission in London.

Philip Ozouf said the pact was further evidence of Jersey's transparency and its fight against money laundering and the financing of terrorism.

Jersey currently has 14 TIEAs and is in negotiations with Italy, New Zealand, Canada and Spain.

The States of Jersey said the aim of the agreement is to enhance and strengthen the "mutual respect and co-operation between two jurisdictions".

Signing the agreement would help to firmly establish Jersey's inclusion on the "white list" of finance centres, Mr Ozouf added.

The status refers to the most compliant centres in the world which reach internationally agreed tax standards, while a "black list" indicates tax jurisdictions which are considered to be the most secretive.

Print Sponsor

Islands welcome "white" listing
03 Apr 09 |  Jersey
Jersey ratifies new tax agreement
26 Jan 09 |  Jersey
Changes target money laundering
23 Oct 08 |  Jersey
Tax sharing boost to reputation
15 Dec 07 |  Jersey
Tax exchange agreement is signed
20 Nov 08 |  Jersey

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific