[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Sunday, 11 December 2005, 12:48 GMT
New assistant ministers appointed
Jersey's first assistant ministers have been chosen by the new government.

They will help each politician who heads up a new department by supporting them and making decisions for them in their absence.

However, the assistant ministers will not be allowed to attend the full council meetings.

The Chief Minister, Frank Walker, says he has been enormously encouraged by how the new council of ministers works as a team.

New appointments

Those appointed include Deputy John Le Fondre in the Treasury, Deputy Peter Troy for Social Security, and Deputies Ben Fox and Carolyn Labey who will work alongside the minister for Education, Sport and Culture.

In the new Chief Ministers department, Constable Ken Vibert will be responsible for matters such as international relations.

Meanwhile, the new Deputy of St Clement, Ian Gorst, will help with decisions about migration and human resources.

In other departments, Deputy Alan Maclean and Constable Geoffrey Fisher move to the economic development committee and Deputies Celia Scott Warren and Jackie Hilton have been appointed to the Health and Social Services department.

Constable Richard Dupre moves to the new planning and environment ministry, Deputy Jacqui Huet to Transport and Technical services and the new Deputy of St John, Andrew Lewis, will help Senator Wendy Kinnard at Home Affairs.

Ministerial line-up is unveiled
08 Dec 05 |  Jersey
Walker is Jersey chief minister
05 Dec 05 |  Jersey
Senators nominated for top role
01 Dec 05 |  Jersey
Ministerial guide is translated
25 Nov 05 |  Jersey


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific