Page last updated at 11:57 GMT, Wednesday, 18 July 2012 12:57 UK

Regions and territories: The Channel Islands

Map of the Channel Islands

The Channel Islands are an archipelago in the English Channel off the Normandy coast of France. They are divided into two British Crown Dependencies, the Bailiwicks of Guernsey and Jersey. The former also includes the islands of Alderney, Sark and Herm, and smaller islands are divided between the two bailiwicks.

The islands are not part of the United Kingdom or European Union, but rather are possessions of the British Crown with independent administrations. Their inhabitants are British citizens.


The Channel Islands were owned by the Duchy of Normandy, and passed to the English Crown when William the Conqueror became King of England in 1066. While England lost mainland Normandy in 1204, the islands remained possessions of the Crown and were divided into the two bailiwicks later that century.

A couple walk on the causeway leading to Corbiere lighthouse Jersey
Corbiere lighthouse Jersey

Since then the bailiwicks have maintained separate institutions, laws and media, with the exception of a common independent TV station, Channel TV.

During the Second World War the islands were occupied by Germany, causing considerable suffering to the locals. Some were deported as slave labourers, Jews were sent to concentration camps, reprisals for partisan activities were harsh, and many were reduced to near starvation by the end of the war. Accusations of collaboration and cover-up poisoned relations between many islanders for decades.

The total population is about 160,000, of whom the overwhelming majority is made up of native islanders of Norman French and British extraction. There are also groups of European Union citizens, with a prominent community from Portugal.

As Crown Dependencies the islands are not part of the United Kingdom or European Union, nor are they colonies or overseas territories of the United Kingdom like Gibraltar. They are possessions of the British Crown with independent administrations. Their assemblies pass their own legislation with the assent of the Crown granted in the Privy Council.

The Crown is responsible for defence, diplomatic representation and citizenship, although the islands maintain their own controls over housing and employment that apply to British as well as other citizens.

The islands have the right to establish direct relations with foreign governments. Although not parts of the European Union, they are in a customs union with it.

The bailiwicks are governed by elected parliaments called States, while the smaller islands of Alderney and Sark also have their own assemblies - the States and Chief Pleas respectively.

The bailiffs are the chief civil officers, and preside over the States and court of law. They are appointed by the Crown, and usually serve until retirement or death. Their powers have been steadily transferred to the States over the last 100 years, culminating in the adoption of a ministerial system and appointment of chief ministers in 2005.

The economy of the islands is dominated by financial services, tourism, electronic commerce and agriculture. The relatively light tax burden has encouraged a booming offshore finance sector. Pressure from the European Union and the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development is obliging the islands to change their taxation systems for the sake of compliance, as with other offshore centres.


  • Territory: The Channel Islands (Bailiwicks of Guernsey and Jersey)

  • Status: UK Crown Dependencies

  • Population: 65,573 (Guernsey), 90,800 (Jersey)
  • Capital: St Peter Port (Guernsey), St Helier (Jersey)
  • Area: 78 sq km 30 sq miles (Guernsey), 116 sq km/45 sq miles (Jersey)
  • Major languages: English, French, local forms of French
  • Major religion: Christianity
  • Life expectancy: 74 years (men), 84 years (women)
  • Monetary unit: Pound sterling
  • Main exports: Agricultural produce
  • GNI per capita: $68, 610 (World Bank, 2008)
  • Internet domain: .gg (Guernsey), .je (Jersey)
  • International dialling code: +44


Head of state: Queen Elizabeth II. Represented by Lieutenant Governors Air Marshal Peter Walker (Guernsey) and Gen Sir John McColl (Jersey).

Bailiffs: Richard Collas (Guernsey), Sir Michael Birt (Jersey)

Chief minister (Guernsey): Peter Harwood
Peter Harwood was elected as the fourth chief minister of Guernsey in May 2012 and was first elected to the States of Guernsey a month before in the island's April 2012 general election.

Chief minister (Jersey): Senator Ian Gorst
Senator Ian Gorst was elected Jersey's chief minister by the States in November 2011. He was first elected as a deputy in St Clement in 2005 and was re-elected to the role in 2008. He became a senator in 2011 coming second in the island wide poll.


Channel TV, a commercial station, and the BBC carry TV news tailored for the islands. The UK's national radio and TV networks are carried via local relays.

There are BBC and private local radio stations on Jersey and Guernsey.

Radio and TV licensing and regulation is overseen by the UK's Office of Communications (Ofcom). Locally-published dailies are available, alongside UK national titles.

The press



Print Sponsor




Compiled by BBC Monitoring


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific