Page last updated at 10:24 GMT, Thursday, 7 April 2005 11:24 UK

World leaders to attend Pope's funeral

Political leaders from across the globe, including United Nations Secretary General Kofi Annan, will gather in Rome for the funeral of Pope John Paul II on Friday.

Here is a list of those who say they will attend, grouped by geographical area.


Angola: President Jose Eduardo dos Santos

Cameroon: President Paul Biya

Democratic Republic of Congo: President Joseph Kabila

Equatorial Guinea: President Teodoro Obiang Nguema

Ghana: President John Kufour

Kenya: Foreign Minister Chirau Ali Makwere

Lesotho: King Letsie III

Mauritius: Prime Minister Paul Berenger

Mozambique: Armando Guebuza

Nigeria: President Olusegun Obasanjo

Senegal: President Abdoulaye Wade

South Africa: Deputy President Jacob Zuma

Uganda: Vice-President Gilbert Bukenya

Zimbabwe: President Robert Mugabe


Argentina: Vice-President Daniel Scioli, Foreign Minister Rafael Bielsa

Bolivia: President Carlos Mesa

Brazil: President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva

Canada: Prime Minister Paul Martin

Chile: Foreign Minister Ignacio Walker

Colombia: Vice-President Francisco Santos

Costa Rica: President Abel Pacheco

Cuba: Parliament Speaker Ricardo Alarcon

Ecuador: Foreign Minister Patricio Zuquilanda

El Salvador: Foreign Minister Francisco Lainez

Guatemala: President Oscar Berger, Foreign Minister Jorge Briz

Haiti: Prime Minister Gerald Latortue

Honduras: President Ricardo Maduro

Mexico: President Vicente Fox

Nicaragua: President Enrique Bolanos

Panama: First Lady Vivian Fernandez de Torrijos

Paraguay: Vice President Luis Castiglioni

Peru: Parliament speaker Antero Flores Araoz, Foreign Minister Manuel Rodriguez, Justice Minister Eduardo Salhuana

United States: President George W Bush

Uruguay: First Lady Maria Auxiliadora Delgado de Vasquez

Venezuela: Foreign Minister Ali Rodriguez


Australia: Governor General Michael Jeffery

Indonesia: Welfare Minister Alwi Shihab, Religious Affairs Minister Maftuh Basyuni

Japan: Former Foreign Minister Yoriko Kawaguchi

New Zealand: Governor General Silvia Cartwright

Philippines: President Gloria Arroyo

Taiwan: President Chen Shui-bian


Albania: Prime Minister Fatos Nano, President Alfred Moisiu

Armenia: Prime Minister Andranik Markaryan

Austria: President Heinz Fischer, Chancellor Wolfgang Schuessel

Belgium: King Albert II and Queen Paola, Prime Minister Guy Verhofstadt

Bosnia: Chairman of the State Presidency Borislav Paravac

Bulgaria: President Georgi Parvanov

Croatia: President Stipe Mesic, Prime Minister Ivo Sanader

Czech Republic: President Vaclav Klaus, Foreign Minister Cyril Svoboda

Cyprus: President Tassos Papadopoulos

Denmark: Prime Minister Anders Fogh Rasmussen

Estonia: President Arnold Ruutel

European Union: Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso

Finland: Prime Minister Matti Vanhanen

France: President Jacques Chirac

Germany: President Horst Koehler, Chancellor Gerhard Schroeder

Greece: President Carolos Papoulias

Hungary: President Ferenc Madl, Prime Minister Ferenc Gyurcsany

Ireland: President Mary McAleese, Prime Minister Bertie Ahern

Italy: President Carlo Azeglio Ciampi, Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi

Latvia: President Vaira Vike-Freiberga

Lithuania: President Valdas Adamkus

Luxembourg: Grand Duke Henri and Grand Duchess Maria Teresa, Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker

Malta: President Edward Fenech Adami, Prime Minister Dr Lawrence Gonzi

Nato: Secretary General Jaap de Hoop Scheffer

The Netherlands: Prime Minister Jan Peter Balkenende

Norway: Queen Sonja, Prime Minister Kjell Magne Bondevik

Poland: President Aleksander Kwasniewski, Prime Minister Marek Belka, former President Lech Walesa

Portugal: President Jorge Sampaio, Foreign Minister Diogo Freitas do Amaral

Romania: President Traian Basescu, Prime Minister Calin Tariceanu

Russia: Prime Minister Mikhail Fradkov

Serbia-Montenegro: President Svetozar Marovic, Foreign Minister Vuk Draskovic, President Filip Vujanovic (Montenegro)

Slovakia: President Ivan Gasparovic

Slovenia: President Janez Drnovsek, Prime Minister Janez Jansa

Spain: King Juan Carlos, Queen Sofia, Prime Minister Jose Luis Rodriguez Zapatero

Sweden: King Carl Gustaf and Queen Silvia

Switzerland: President Samuel Schmid

Turkey: Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan

Ukraine: President Viktor Yushchenko

United Kingdom: Prince Charles, Prime Minister Tony Blair


Arab League: Secretary General Amr Moussa

Egypt: Minister of Culture Farouk Hosni

Iran: President Mohammad Khatami

Israel: President Moshe Katzav, Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Silvan Shalom

Jordan: King Abdullah

Lebanon: President Emile Lahoud, Prime Minister Omar Karami, Parliament Speaker Nabih Berri

Palestinian Authority: Prime Minister Ahmed Qurei

Syria: President Bashar al-Assad


Afghanistan: President Hamid Karzai

Bangladesh: Food and Disaster Management Minister Chowdhury Kamal Ibne Yusuf

India: Vice-President Bhairon Singh Shekawat

Pakistan: Religious Affairs Minister Ejaz-ul Haq

Sri Lanka: Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapakse, Christian Affairs Minister Milroy Fernando

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific