BBC Homepage World Service Education
BBC Homepagelow graphics version | feedback | help
BBC News Online
 You are in: World: Europe
Front Page 
Middle East 
South Asia 
From Our Own Correspondent 
Letter From America 
UK Politics 
Talking Point 
In Depth 

Sunday, 21 January, 2001, 13:23 GMT
The full list of new cardinals
Pope John Paul II receives Cardinal Josef Tomko
Cardinals will elect John Paul's successor
Here is a complete list of names of new cardinals named by Pope John Paul II on Sunday, supplied by the Associated News press agency.

1. Monsignor Giovanni Battista Re, Prefect of the Congregation of Bishops.

2. Monsignor Francois Xavier Nguyen Van Thuan, President of the Pontifical Council of Justice and Peace.

3. Monsignor Agostino Cacciavillan, President of the Administration of the Patrimony of the Holy See.

4. Monsignor Sergio Sebastiani, President of the Prefecture of the Holy See's Economic Affairs.

5. Monsignor Zenon Grocholewski, Prefect of the Congregation for Catholic Education.

6. Monsignor Jose Saraiva Martins, Prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of the Saints.

7. Monsignor Crescenzio Sepe, Secretary General of the Great Jubilee Committee.

8. Monsignor Jorge Maria Mejia, Archivist and librarian of the Holy Roman church.

9. Ignace Moussa I Daoud, Prefect for the Congregation of Eastern Churches.

10. Monsignor Mario Francesco Pompedda, Prefect of the Supreme Tribunal.

11. Monsignor Walter Kasper, Emeritus Bishop of Rottenburg-Stuttgart, Secretary of the Pontifical Council for the Promotion of Christian Unity.

12. Monsignor Antonio Jose Gonzalez Zumarraga, Archbishop of Quito, Ecuador.

13. Monsignor Ivan Dias, Archbishop of Bombay, India.

14. Monsignor Geraldo Majella Agnelo, Archbishop of Sao Salvador da Bahia, Brazil.

15. Monsignor Pedro Rubiano Saenz, Archbishop of Bogota, Colombia.

16. Monsignor Theodore E. McCarrick, Archbishop of Washington, D.C.

17. Monsignor Desmond Connell, Archbishop of Dublin, Ireland.

18. Monsignor Audrys Juozas Backis, Archbishop of Vilnius, Lithuania.

19. Monsignor Francisco Javier Errazuriz Ossa, Archbishop of Santiago, Chile.

20. Monsignor Oscar Andres Rodriguez Maradiaga, archbishop of Tegucigalpa, Honduras.

21. Monsignor Bernard Agre, Archbishop of Abidjan, Ivory Coast.

22. Monsignor Louis-Marie Bille, Archbishop of Lyon, France.

23. Monsignor Ignacio Antonio Velasco Garcia, Archbishop of Caracas, Venezuela.

24. Monsignor Juan Luis Cipriani Thorne, Archbishop of Lima, Peru.

25. Monsignor Francisco Alvarez Martinez, Archbishop of Toledo, Spain.

26. Monsignor Claudio Hummes, Archbishop of Sao Paulo, Brazil.

27. Monsignor Varkey Vithayathil, Archbishop major of Ernakulam-Angamaly of the Siro-Malabaresi, India.

28. Monsignor Jorge Mario Bergoglio, Archbishop of Buenos Aires, Argentina.

29. Monsignor Jose Da Cruz Policarpo, Patriarch of Lisbon, Portugal.

30. Monsignor Severino Poletto, Archbishop of Turin, Italy.

31. Monsignor Cormac Murphy-O'Connor, Archbishop of Westminster, Britain.

32. Monsignor Edward Michael Egan, Archbishop of New York.

33. Stephanos II Ghattas, Patriarch of Alexandria of the Copts.

34. Monsignor Jean Honore, Archbishop Emeritus of Tours.

35. The Rev Roberto Tucci, Vatican Radio official.

36. Monsignor Leo Scheffczyk, theologian from archdioceses of Munich and Feising.

37. The Rev Avery Dulles, theologian, Professor of Fordham University, New York.

Search BBC News Online

Advanced search options
Launch console
See also:

06 Jan 01 | Europe
Pope closes Holy Door
07 Nov 00 | Europe
Pope to visit Ukraine
01 Oct 00 | Europe
Pope canonises Chinese martyrs
Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to more Europe stories are at the foot of the page.

E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Europe stories