Page last updated at 15:51 GMT, Thursday, 31 December 2009

Don Paterson awarded Queen's Medal for Poetry

Don Paterson
Don Paterson was honoured with an OBE in 2008

Scottish poet Don Paterson has been awarded the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry, Buckingham Palace has said.

The writer won the award for his collection Rain, which collected the 2009 Forward Prize for Poetry.

Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy, who chaired the judging panel, said Paterson's work was "poetry of bravery and conviction".

The medal, which was established in 1933, recognises excellence in poetry published in the last year.


Previous recipients of the honour have included Sir John Betjeman, Ted Hughes, WH Auden and Stevie Smith.

Duffy added that Paterson's writings were "acutely attuned to the most intimate of human exchanges, rendered with a formal grace, a moving candour and a beguiling cadence.

"These poems are a witness and a guide to our most precious moments, achieving in two decades of work what few manage so well in a lifetime," she added.

Dundee-born Paterson published his first collection 16 years ago and has gained a reputation as a "must-read" poet.

His previous works have picked up a string of prestigious accolades, including 2003's Landing Light, which won both the TS Eliot and Whitbread prizes for poetry.

He was awarded the OBE in 2008.

Print Sponsor

Poet Paterson wins 10,000 prize
08 Oct 09 |  Arts & Culture
Poetry prize shortlist revealed
22 Jul 09 |  Entertainment

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific