Page last updated at 09:44 GMT, Wednesday, 10 March 2010

Sir Terry Wogan wins radio personality prize

Sir Terry Wogan
Sir Terry says he still listens to the Radio 2 breakfast show

BBC Radio 2 host Sir Terry Wogan has been named digital radio personality of the year at the annual Tric Awards.

The 71-year-old, who broadcast his final breakfast show in December, beat Radio 1 breakfast host Chris Moyles and his successor Chris Evans.

Sir Terry joked that he had received a "sympathy vote" for having undergone surgery to have his knee replaced.

Barbara Windsor was also presented with a lifetime achievement award at the ceremony which took place in London.

'British institutions'

The 72-year-old, who is best known for playing Peggy Mitchell in BBC One soap EastEnders, is due to leave the show later this year.

"I'm not retiring. It will be interesting to see what happens," she said.

Speaking of her long career, the actress added: "In a year or so it will be 60 years. I love it now as much as I did then."

"I know that I'm known for two great British institutions, EastEnders and Carry On."

Barbara Windsor
Barbara Windsor was presented with a lifetime achievement prize

Sir Terry admitted that he still listens to the breakfast show, but is enjoying the extra time in bed.

"I don't think about the morning radio show. I miss the jollity and laughter of course but I lie in bed now," he said.

Speaking of Evans, who has been criticised by some of Sir Terry's fans, he said: "He's been doing brilliantly, of course he has. People have to give him a chance. I was doing it for 100 years. You worm your way into people's affections. He's just been doing it for weeks."

Chris Moyles' breakfast show won best radio/digital radio programme and EastEnders beat Hollyoaks and Coronation Street to TV soap of the year at the ceremony, which was held at London's Grosvenor House hotel.

Tess Daly picked up the gong for Strictly Come Dancing, which was named best TV reality programme, beating The Apprentice and The X Factor.

Other winners included Doctor Who for TV drama, BBC Breakfast for TV daytime programme, Harry Hill for TV personality, Eamonn Holmes for satellite and digital TV personality and Ricky Whittle (Calvin Valentine in Hollyoaks) for TV soap personality.

Gary Lineker won the award for best sports presenter and Mark Austin won best newscaster.

The Television and Radio Industries Club awards are voted for by broadcast professionals.

Print Sponsor

Sir Terry Wogan's final breakfast show
18 Dec 09 |  Entertainment
Sir Terry bids farewell to show
18 Dec 09 |  Entertainment
Wogan honoured by radio industry
11 Dec 09 |  Entertainment
Actress Windsor quits EastEnders
28 Oct 09 |  Entertainment
The magic of Peggy Mitchell
28 Oct 09 |  Entertainment

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific