Page last updated at 08:50 GMT, Wednesday, 27 January 2010

Oscars shortlist to be revealed by Anne Hathaway

Anne Hathaway
This year's Oscars ceremony is two weeks later that usual

Actress Anne Hathaway will help to announce the nominees for the 2010 Oscars next week.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences said the 27-year-old would join their president, Tom Sherak, to reveal 10 of the 24 awards.

The nominations will be announced at the academy's Beverly Hills headquarters on 2 February.

Hathaway was nominated for an Oscar in 2009 for her leading role in Rachel Getting Married.

However, the star lost out in the best actress category to Kate Winslet, who won the award for The Reader.

Hathaway's other movie credits include The Devil Wears Prada and The Princess Diaries.

This year, the best picture category has been opened up to include 10 movies, instead of five.

The ceremony, on Sunday 7 March, takes place a fortnight later than last year's event, to avoid coinciding with the Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver.

Comedian Steve Martin and actor Alec Baldwin are set to present the show.

Print Sponsor

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

China Post Anne Hathaway chosen to announce Oscar nominations - 5 hrs ago
Melbourne Age Michael Douglas' son admits trafficking charge - 7 hrs ago
The Independent Timberlake receives Man of the Year award, Hathaway is Woman of the Year - 15 hrs ago

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific