Page last updated at 00:54 GMT, Tuesday, 5 January 2010

Ant and Dec up for three National Television awards

Anthony McPartlin and Declan Donnelly
Ant and Dec are again up for the best entertainment presenter prize

Ant and Dec have been nominated for TV presenters of the year at the National TV Awards - a prize they have won eight times in a row.

Two of their shows, I'm a Celebrity and Saturday Night Takeaway, are up in the entertainment programme category.

Paul O'Grady, stand-up comic Michael McIntyre and Holly Willoughby have been nominated alongside Ant and Dec on the presenter shortlist.

Dermot O'Leary will host this year's ceremony, to be held on 20 January.

The awards, which are decided by public phone vote, will be broadcast live on ITV1 from the O2 Arena in east London.

Doctor Who star David Tennant is one of three Davids nominated for the drama performance prize, with A Touch Of Frost star Sir David Jason and Shameless actor David Threlfall also in the running.

Strictly Come Dancing, named best talent show at the last awards, is shortlisted in the same category, again alongside The X Factor, Britain's Got Talent and Dancing On Ice.

The last National Television Awards were held in October 2008 at the Royal Albert Hall in London.

The event saw Anthony McPartlin and Declan Donnelly named best entertainment presenters for the eighth year in a row.

It also saw David Tennant announce he was leaving Doctor Who - something BBC One viewers saw happen on New Year's Day when he regenerated into his successor, Matt Smith.

Print Sponsor

Dermot O'Leary to host TV awards
15 Jul 09 |  Entertainment
Cowell wins recognition TV award
29 Oct 08 |  Entertainment
In pictures: National TV Awards
29 Oct 08 |  In Pictures

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific