Page last updated at 10:46 GMT, Monday, 26 January 2009

SAG Awards 2009: The winners

Here is the full list of winners at the 2009 Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards, held in Los Angeles on 25 January.


Best actor
Sean Penn (Milk)
Also nominated: Richard Jenkins (The Visitor), Frank Langella (Frost/Nixon), Brad Pitt (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button), Mickey Rourke (The Wrestler)

Best actress
Meryl Streep (Doubt)
Also nominated: Anne Hathaway (Rachel Getting Married), Angelina Jolie (Changeling), Melissa Leo (Frozen River), Kate Winslet (Revolutionary Road)

Best supporting actor
Heath Ledger (The Dark Knight)
Also nominated: Josh Brolin (Milk), Robert Downey Jr (Tropic Thunder), Philip Seymour Hoffman (Doubt), Dev Patel (Slumdog Millionaire)

Best supporting actress
Kate Winslet (The Reader)
Also nominated: Amy Adams (Doubt), Penelope Cruz (Vicky Cristina Barcelona), Viola Davis (Doubt), Taraji P Henson (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button)

Best ensemble cast
Slumdog Millionaire
Also nominated: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Doubt, Frost/Nixon, Milk

Best stunt ensemble
The Dark Knight
Also nominated: Hellboy II: The Golden Army, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, Iron Man, Wanted


Best actor (drama)
Hugh Laurie (House)
Also nominated: Michael C Hall (Dexter), Jon Hamm (Mad Men), William Shatner (Boston Legal), James Spader (Boston Legal)

Best actress (drama)
Sally Field (Brothers & Sisters)
Also nominated: Mariska Hargitay (Law & Order: SVU), Holly Hunter (Saving Grace), Elisabeth Moss (Mad Men), Kyra Sedgwick (The Closer)

Best actor (comedy)
Alec Baldwin (30 Rock)
Also nominated: Steve Carell (The Office), David Duchovny (Californication), Jeremy Piven (Entourage), Tony Shalhoub (Monk)

Best actress (comedy)
Tina Fey (30 Rock)
Also nominated: Christina Applegate (Samantha Who?), America Ferrera (Ugly Betty), Mary-Louise Parker (Weeds), Tracey Ullman (Tracey Ullman's State of the Union)

Best actor (TV movie or mini-series)
Paul Giamatti (John Adams)
Also nominated: Ralph Fiennes (Bernard and Doris), Kevin Spacey (Recount), Kiefer Sutherland (24: Redemption), Tom Wilkinson (John Adams)

Best actress (TV movie or mini-series)
Laura Linney (John Adams)
Also nominated: Laura Dern (Recount), Shirley MacLaine (Coco Chanel), Phylicia Rashad (A Raisin in the Sun), Susan Sarandon (Bernard and Doris)

Best drama ensemble
Mad Men
Also nominated: Boston Legal, Dexter, House, The Closer

Best comedy ensemble
30 Rock
Also nominated: Desperate Housewives, Entourage, The Office, Weeds

Best stunt ensemble
Also nominated: Friday Night Lights, Prison Break, The Unit, The Closer

Lifetime achievement award
James Earl Jones

Print Sponsor

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific