Page last updated at 07:45 GMT, Wednesday, 18 June 2008 08:45 UK

Honour for comedian George Carlin

Grammy award-winning comedian, writer and actor George Carlin will be awarded with the Kennedy Center's Mark Twain prize for American humour.

The 71-year-old, who had many TV and film roles, is best known for his Seven Words You Can Never Say On TV routine.

A tribute performance to honour his career will be held in November.

Last year Billy Crystal was honoured with the prize. Other past recipients included include Whoopi Goldberg, Neil Simon and Steve Martin.

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific