Page last updated at 10:17 GMT, Wednesday, 4 June 2008 11:17 UK

Six authors vie for Orange prize

Sadie Jones, Caroline Mendelson and Nancy Huston talk about what it is like to be nominated for the Orange Broadband prize for fiction

Six female writers are waiting to find out if they have won this year's Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction.

The recipient of this year's prize, and the 30,000 cheque that accompanies it, will be announced later at the Royal Festival Hall in central London.

The recipient of the 2008 Orange award for new female writers will also be unveiled at this evening's ceremony.

The Orange Prize for Fiction was set up in 1996 to celebrate novels in English by women throughout the world.

Nancy Huston and Rose Tremain are among the writers shortlisted for the main Orange prize.

Huston is nominated for her 11th book Fault Lines, while Tremain, who was also shortlisted in 2004, is up for her novel The Road Home.

Ill health

Three works by debut novelists - Sadie Jones's The Outcast, Lullabies For Little Criminals by Heather O'Neill and Patricia Wood's Lottery - are also up for the award.

The shortlist is completed by Charlotte Mendelson's third novel When We Were Bad.

Lauren Groff, Joanna Kavenna (image (c) David Fisher) and Lauren Liebenberg
The event will also see one of three emerging writers celebrated
US author Lauren Groff is up for the 10,000 new writer prize for her work The Monsters of Templeton.

Joanna Kavenna's Inglorious and Lauren Liebenberg's The Voluptuous Delights Of Peanut Butter And Jam are also in contention.

Previous winners of the main Orange Prize include Zadie Smith's On Beauty and We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver.

Last year, Nigerian author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie scooped the prize for her book Half of a Yellow Sun.

Broadcaster Kirsty Lang chairs this year's panel, which also includes journalist Lisa Allardice, novelist Philippa Gregory and children's author Bel Mooney.

Pop singer Lily Allen was initially a panel member but pulled out in April due to ill health.

The panel to decide the new writers prize is chaired by Shami Chakrabarti, director of human rights group Liberty.

Her fellow judges are novelist Clare Allan and Suzi Feay, literary editor of the Independent on Sunday.

Tremain leads Orange fiction list
15 Apr 08 |  Entertainment
Three authors on Orange shortlist
08 Apr 08 |  Entertainment
Allen leaves Orange judging panel
07 Apr 08 |  Entertainment
Controversial writer up for prize
18 Mar 08 |  Entertainment
Life after Orange Prize success
28 Dec 07 |  Entertainment

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific