BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Tuesday, 15 January 2008, 11:16 GMT
O'Brien honoured with poetry win
Sean O'Brien - photograph by Moira Conway
The Drowned Book is O'Brien's sixth collection
Poet Sean O'Brien has been named as the winner of the 2007 TS Eliot prize for his poetry collection The Drowned Book.

The 55-year-old from Newcastle, who has won the Forward Poetry Prize a record three times, was presented with a cheque for 15,000 at a London gala.

He told the BBC that he was "totally taken aback" to win in such a very strong field.

Peter Porter, chair of judges, called O'Brien's work "fierce, funny and deeply melancholy".

Previous winners of the prestigious prize have included Seamus Heaney and Carol Ann Duffy.

'Absorb it'

Mr Porter also called O'Brien, who is a professor of creative writing at Newcastle University, "a major artist".

Speaking about the popularity of verse, O'Brien said: "We live in a prose world where poetry is an experience.

"People have to let themselves off the hook, absorb it, be with it and not expect to understand it," he added.

The Guardian referred to The Drowned Sea "as powerful, resonant and thought-provoking".

The collection, the newspaper added, came from "a formidable wordsmith at the height of his powers".

The TS Eliot Prize is organised by the Poetry Book Society, which was founded by Eliot in 1953.

Talking Shop: Sean O'Brien
04 Oct 07 |  Entertainment
O'Brien scoops top poetry prize
04 Oct 07 |  Entertainment
Activist on list for poetry prize
17 Jul 07 |  Entertainment
Judges award 10,000 poetry prize
05 Oct 06 |  Entertainment

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific