BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Monday, 14 January 2008, 14:45 GMT
Winner warns over Globes no-show
Peter Morgan winning a Golden Globe at the 2007 ceremony
Peter Morgan collected a Globe in 2007 amid the usual glitz
The writer of Golden Globe award-winning TV film Longford has expressed disappointment the ceremony did not go ahead.

"The cancellation is another loss of revenue the industry can ill-afford," said Peter Morgan, who also wrote The Last King of Scotland and The Queen.

He added that he was "saddened" that show producers were unable to come to an agreement with striking writers.

The Globes were replaced by a low-key press conference due to the dispute.

Morgan, who both wrote and executive produced Longford, said the event represented "a missed opportunity to put differences aside and bring the community together".

"Watching from a distance, the deepening intransigence and hostility feels like a family dispute that has got out of control."

Atonement - best film (drama), best original score
Daniel Day-Lewis - best actor (drama)
Julie Christie - best actress (drama)
Extras - best series (musical or comedy)
Longford - best mini-series or film made for TV
Jim Broadbent - best actor (mini-series or film made for TV)
Samantha Morton - best supporting actress (mini-series or film made for TV)

Romantic wartime drama Atonement was named best film drama at the pared-down ceremony, though its stars Keira Knightley and James McAvoy, and director Joe Wright, failed to pick up individual awards.

Knightley lost out to British acting legend Julie Christie, who won the best actress gong for Away From Her.

McAvoy, meanwhile, was passed over in favour of British-born Daniel Day-Lewis, recognised for his work in oil prospecting drama There Will Be Blood.

'Great night'

Tim Bevan, producer of Atonement, hailed it a "great night" for British cinema.

He said he was "delighted that a British film should win best picture in a year where there are some fantastic films out there".

"It's the right award to have won as well because it's a collective award, and we've had a brilliant cast and crew," added Bevan.

Keira Knightley and James McAvoy missed out on acting gongs
Longford's executive producer Andy Harries said he was "thrilled" the Channel 4 film had won three awards - more than any other nominee.

"The recognition of the film is what makes it all worthwhile," he said.

Elsewhere, though, it was a night of mixed fortunes for the UK at the Los Angeles event.

British misses included Sir Ridley Scott, who lost to Julian Schnabel for The Diving Bell and the Butterfly in the best film director category.

Sweeney Todd's Helena Bonham Carter lost to France's Marion Cotillard for the best actress in a musical or comedy award.


Tilda Swinton, meanwhile, missed out on the best supporting actress gong, despite her well-received performance in legal thriller Michael Clayton.

Tom Wilkinson also failed to win the best supporting actor award for the same film.

Longford stars Andy Serkis and Samantha Morton
Andy Serkis and Samantha Morton were both nominated in Longford
Longford's wins included a best actor prize for Jim Broadbent and a best supporting actress award for Samantha Morton.

The Nottingham-born star, who gave birth to her second child earlier this month, plays Moors Murderer Myra Hindley in the drama, which also won the award for best TV film or mini-series.

Broadbent, meanwhile, was recognised for his uncanny portrayal of the eponymous prisons campaigner.

"Who could have predicted that the tale of an eccentric English peer's obsession with Britain 's most famous serial killer would strike such a chord with audiences in America?" asked Harries.

Ridley Scott - best director
James McAvoy - best actor (drama)
Keira Knightley - best actress (drama)
Helena Bonham Carter - best actress (musical or comedy)
Tom Wilkinson- best supporting actor
Tilda Swinton - best supporting actress
Christopher Hampton - best screenplay
The State Within - best mini-series or film made for TV
Hugh Laurie - best TV actor (drama)
Ricky Gervais - best TV actor (comedy)
Jason Isaacs, James Nesbitt - best TV actor (mini-series or film made for TV)
Minnie Driver - best TV actress (drama)
Anna Friel - best TV actress (comedy)
Ruth Wilson - best actress (mini-series or film made for TV)
Andy Serkis - best supporting actor (mini-series or film made for TV)

Cast member Andy Serkis, however, saw his portrayal of Ian Brady passed over in favour of Entourage star Jeremy Piven.

Also nominated in Broadbent's category were Jason Isaacs, who starred in The State Within, and James Nesbitt, who won plaudits for his role in the BBC drama Jekyll.

Ricky Gervais took the best comedy or musical gong for Extras, but missed out in the acting category to Californication star David Duchovny.

Last year's best actor winner, House star Hugh Laurie, was beaten by Mad Men's Jon Hamm, while former Brookside star Anna Friel failed to win a best actress Globe for Pushing Daisies.

Elsewhere newcomer Ruth Wilson, who starred in the BBC's Jane Eyre, lost out to Queen Latifah for Life Support in the best actress in a mini-series award.

Highlights from the awards and winning films

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific