[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Tuesday, 7 August 2007, 17:42 GMT 18:42 UK
McEwan battles Booker newcomers
Ian McEwan
Ian McEwan has been shortlisted for the prize three times
Author Ian McEwan is leading the longlist for the coveted Man Booker Prize, a decade after he won the award.

But this year's list is dominated by Booker newcomers. Out of the 13 contenders, no others have even been shortlisted in the past.

McEwan, who is nominated for On Chesil Beach, will face competition from authors including AN Wilson, Nicola Barker, Lloyd Jones and Anne Enright.

The winner of the 50,000 book of the year prize will be named in October.

Chair of judges, Howard Davies, said: "All the books chosen are well-crafted and will appeal to a wide readership."

Ian McEwan - 3/1
Nicola Barker - 5/1
Mohsin Hamid - 7/1
Catherine O'Flynn - 8/1
AN Wilson - 9/1
Source: William Hill

McEwan's latest novel, a tragic love story set in the 1960s, follows three previous appearances on the shortlist for the author. He won the title in 1998 for Amsterdam.

The longlist - the Man Booker Dozen - was whittled down from 110 entries from across the UK, Ireland and the Commonwealth.

Four first-time novelists are included - Tan Twan Eng, Peter Ho Davies, Catherine O'Flynn and Nikita Lalwani.

New Zealander Lloyd Jones is up for the award for Mister Pip, which won the Commonwealth Writers' Prize Overall Best Book Award 2007.

Nicola Barker's Darkmans is longlisted after she reached the same stage in 2004 with Clear: A Transparent Novel.

Kiran Desai
Kiran Desai won last year with The Inheritance of Loss
Highly-charged stories from around the world have a strong presence, including Mohsin Hamid's The Reluctant Fundamentalist, which tells the story of a Pakistani man in the US who is radicalised after 9/11.

Indra Sinha, who set up a clinic in 1996 to help survivors of the 1984 Bhopal gas disaster, is nominated for his fictionalised story of one survivor.

Former Daily Express literary editor Edward Docx has also made the cut, as has Canadian author, poet, playwright and critic Michael Redhill.

The judges spent more than six hours deliberating on the final 13. The shortlist of six will be unveiled on 6 September, with the winner announced at the Guildhall in London on 16 October.

Last year's winner was The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai.

The full longlist for the Man Booker Prize 2007:

  • Nicola Barker - Darkmans
  • Edward Docx - Self Help
  • Tan Twan Eng - The Gift Of Rain
  • Anne Enright - The Gathering
  • Mohsin Hamid - The Reluctant Fundamentalist
  • Peter Ho Davies - The Welsh Girl
  • Lloyd Jones - Mister Pip
  • Nikita Lalwani - Gifted
  • Ian McEwan - On Chesil Beach
  • Catherine O'Flynn - What Was Lost
  • Michael Redhill - Consolation
  • Indra Sinha - Animal's People
  • AN Wilson - Winnie & Wolf


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific