[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Tuesday, 1 May 2007, 18:16 GMT 19:16 UK
Angolan author wins fiction prize
Jose Eduardo Agualusa
Agualusa divides his time between Portugal and Angola
The Book of Chameleons by Angolan journalist and author Jose Eduardo Agualusa has won this year's Independent Foreign Fiction Prize.

The author shares the 10,000 prize money with translator Daniel Hahn.

The prize celebrates a novel that has been translated into English and published in the UK in past year.

Boyd Tonkin, judge and literary editor of The Independent, called it "a delightful, moving and revealing novel about modern Africa".

"It is remarkable for its witty originality and profound humanity, and blessed by a captivating translation from the Portuguese by Daniel Hahn," said Mr Tonkin.

Previous winners

The judging panel included celebrated author Ali Smith and translator David Constantine.

Agualusa and Hahn celebrated their success at a ceremony at London's National Portrait Gallery on Tuesday.

Founded in 1990, the Foreign Fiction Prize lapsed in 1995 but was revived in 2001, with the support of the Arts Council.

Previous winners include Milan Kundera's Immortality, Austerlitz, by WG Sebald, and last year's winner Out Stealing Horses, by Per Petterson - which was recently shortlisted for the Impac award.

Country profile: Angola
02 Mar 07 |  Country profiles
Barnes nominated for Impac award
05 Apr 07 |  Entertainment
East Europe dominates book prize
03 Mar 06 |  Entertainment
Fiction prize won by 9/11 novel
27 Apr 05 |  Entertainment
Swedish writer lands literary prize
08 Apr 03 |  Entertainment


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific