[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Tuesday, 1 May 2007, 08:29 GMT 09:29 UK
Sony Radio Awards: The winners
The Sony Radio Academy Awards, the UK's most prestigious radio ceremony, have been held in London. Here is the full list of winners:

Special Awards

  • Gold award: Paul Gambaccini
  • Broadcasters' broadcaster award: John Peel
  • The lifetime achievement award: Tony Butler, BBC West Midlands

    Personality Awards

  • Music broadcaster: Colin Murray, BBC Radio 1
  • Music radio personality: Chris Evans, BBC Radio 2
  • News journalist: John Humphrys, BBC Radio 4
  • Speech broadcaster: Eddie Nestor, BBC London 94.9
  • Station programmer: Francis Currie, programme director for the Heart network

    Programme Awards

  • Breakfast show: The Today Programme, BBC Radio 4
  • Music programme: The Mark Radcliffe Show, BBC Radio 2
  • Specialist music programme: Friction, BBC Asian Network
  • News and current affairs programme: Five Live Breakfast, BBC Radio Five Live
  • Sports programme: Sportsweek, BBC Radio Five Live
  • Speech programme: The Reunion, BBC Radio 4
  • Interactive programme: PM, BBC Radio 4
  • Entertainment award: The Chris Evans Show, BBC Radio 2
  • The internet programme award: Firin' Squad Unsigned Podcast (Wise Buddah Talent for firinsquad.co.uk

    Production Awards

  • Feature award: Radio Ballads 2006: The Song of Steel, BBC Radio 2
  • Comedy award: 1996 And All That, BBC Radio 4
  • Drama award: Lorilei, BBC Radio 4
  • Music special award: Malcolm McLaren's Musical Map of London, BBC Radio 2
  • News feature award: Letters from Guantanamo Bay, BBC Radio 4
  • Live event coverage award: The Alan Shearer Testimonial, Sport for Magic 1152
  • Breaking news award: The London Tornado, BBC London 94.9
  • Community award: The Plot, BBC Radio Berkshire
  • Promo award: The Ashes, BBC Radio Five Live Sports Extra
  • Competition award: Who's Calling Christian? Virgin Radio
  • Station imaging award: Planet Rock

    Station Awards

  • UK station of the year: Classic FM
  • Station of the year (up to 300,000 listeners): Isle of Wight Radio
  • Station of the year (300,000 to 1million): BBC Radio Derby
  • Station of the year (1million plus): Radio City 96.7
  • Digital terrestrial station of the year: Gaydar Radio

    Classic FM tops Sony Radio Awards
    01 May 07 |  Entertainment

    The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

    Has China's housing bubble burst?
    How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
    Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


    Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific