[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Saturday, 10 February 2007, 14:33 GMT
Lifetime award for TV's Gay Byrne
Gay Byrne receives his award
Byrne left The Late, Late Show in 1999
Irish chat show legend Gay Byrne has won a lifetime achievement award at the Irish Film and Television Awards.

Byrne, who hosted state broadcaster RTE's The Late Late Show for 37 years, was presented his award by singer Bob Geldof and actor Gabriel Byrne.

Other winners at the Dublin ceremony included Ken Loach, whose Wind That Shakes The Barley was named best film.

Meanwhile, British actress Dame Helen Mirren picked up yet another award for her role in The Queen.

She was named best international actress, while Leonardo DiCaprio won best international actor for his part in Martin Scorsese's mob drama The Departed.

Cillian Murphy, who stars in The Wind That Shakes The Barley, won the best Irish actor award for his portrayal of a transvestite cabaret singer in another film, Breakfast On Pluto.

The movie also picked up a best director and best writer award for Neil Jordan.

Best Irish actress went to Eva Birthistle for religious drama Middletown, while Oscar hopeful Little Miss Sunshine was named best international film.

Gay Byrne says goodnight
24 May 99 |  Entertainment
Dublin honours talk show king
12 May 99 |  Entertainment

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific