[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Friday, 22 June 2007, 10:58 GMT 11:58 UK
Film opportunity for Potter fans
Luna Lovegood
Evanna Lynch beat 15,000 hopefuls to land the part of Luna Lovegood
Harry Potter fans are being given the chance to star in the sixth Potter film, with two key parts up for grabs.

Warner Brothers is holding open casting sessions in London to fill the roles of Lavender Brown and Tom Riddle.

A similar process gave 14-year-old Evanna Lynch her first film role, as Luna Lovegood, in the forthcoming Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

Both roles require actors between the ages of 15 and 18. Auditions will be held in London's Earls Court in July.

The sixth Potter film, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, is the penultimate chapter in the series.

Charismatic

Based on JK Rowling's book, it sees Lavender Brown, a pupil in Harry Potter's year at Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry, dating Potter's best friend, Ron Weasley.

Warner Brothers Pictures says it is looking for a "pretty and lively girl" who "tends to be either laughing or crying hysterically".

Tom Riddle is a darker character who is "very charismatic".

Film producers say that "staff and children are probably all a little scared of him".

The audition for Lavender Brown will be held on Sunday 1 July, and for Tom Riddle on Sunday 8 July.

Both will take place at the Earl's Court Exhibition Centre, West London. Applications will be received from 1000 BST (0900GMT) and the queue will close at 1300BST (1200GMT).


SEE ALSO
Dumbledore's Army talk Harry Potter
19 Jun 07 |  Entertainment
Secrets of Harry Potter revealed
08 Jun 07 |  Gloucestershire
Harry Potter theme park planned
31 May 07 |  Entertainment
Rowling plans Potter night party
23 May 07 |  Entertainment
Japanese debut for Potter movie
22 May 07 |  Entertainment

RELATED INTERNET LINKS
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites



FEATURES, VIEWS, ANALYSIS
Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit

PRODUCTS & SERVICES

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific