[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Tuesday, 6 June 2006, 00:25 GMT 01:25 UK
Bailey Rae scoops top Mojo award
Corinne Bailey Rae
Corinne Bailey Rae released her debut album in February
Singer Corinne Bailey Rae has won one of music magazine Mojo's top music awards in their annual readers' poll.

The Leeds-born artist, who won the BBC News website's Sound of 2006 survey, took the award for best new act at the London ceremony.

Sir Elton John collected the Hall Of Fame award, while US legend Scott Walker won the magazine's Icon award.

The Mojo Honours List aims to reward artists who have been responsible for "enhancing" music culture.

New album

Bailey Rae, 27, has sold close to 500,000 copies of her self-titled debut album, and her single Put Your Records On has been a hit across Europe.

Sir Elton collected the Mojo Hall Of Fame award ahead of his release of his new album The Captain And The Kid.

Mojo's editor-in-chief Phil Alexander said it "reaffirms his importance as a musician first and foremost".

Walker, who released his latest album The Drift earlier this year, beat the late Johnny Cash, David Bowie, Neil Young and Van Morrison to the Icon title.

It was Bowie's third consecutive nomination in the category.

Lifetime achievement

Country star Cash - who had been nominated for a total of three awards - won the best catalogue release prize for his five-CD collection, Johnny Cash - The Legend.

The singer's popular appeal has been boosted by the release of the film biopic Walk the Line last year.

Cash, who died two years ago, was also nominated for the Mojo inspiration award, but lost out to the Buzzcocks.

The other nominees in the category were Sparks, Paul Weller and The Fall.

Alexander said: "Buzzcocks have avoided becoming a nostalgia act, keeping their work fresh and vital... Their impact on the likes of Nirvana, Green Day and Ash is evident".

Other winners included rock star Chrissie Hynde, who won the best songwriter award, and Pink Floyd guitarist David Gilmour, who took the lifetime achievement award.

Guitarist Brian May won the Mojo Les Paul award, the Hero award went to Prince Buster, and Jools Holland collected the Mojo Medal award.

The ceremony was held at Shoreditch Town Hall in London on Monday.

Three Mojo nominations for Cash
23 May 06 |  Entertainment
Sound of 2006: Corinne Bailey Rae
06 Jan 06 |  Entertainment
Mojo honour for punk star Sioux
17 Jun 05 |  Entertainment

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific