[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Monday, 6 March 2006, 13:59 GMT
Orange book prize hopefuls named
Author Ali Smith with a copy of her novel The Accidental
Ali Smith won the Whitbread Novel of the Year award for The Accidental
Some of the UK's leading female authors including Zadie Smith, Ali Smith and Sarah Waters have made the longlist for this year's Orange Prize for Fiction.

Other contenders include Helen Dunmore - who won the first Orange Prize in 1996 - and acclaimed US novelists Joyce Carol Oates and Marilynne Robinson.

The award celebrates "excellence, originality and accessibility in women's writing".

The shortlist will be announced on 26 April and the winner decided on 6 June.

Zadie Smith's On Beauty and Ali Smith's The Accidental were both shortlisted for last year's Booker Prize and The Accidental won the Whitbread Novel of the Year award.

'Excellent year'

Sarah Waters, who wrote Tipping the Velvet and Fingersmith, is in the running for her fourth novel, The Night Watch.

Other highlights on the longlist include Gilead, Marilynne Robinson's novel about a dying Iowa preacher, which won last year's Pulitzer Prize's fiction.

Broadcaster Martha Kearney, who is chairing the judging panel, said: "We wanted to choose a longlist which reflected the incredible range of women's fiction in what has been an excellent year."

Last year's award went to Lionel Shriver for her tale of a mother unable to love her son, We Need to Talk about Kevin.

The full list of longlisted novels:

  • Leila Aboulela - Minaret
  • Lorraine Adams - Harbor
  • Naomi Alderman - Disobedience
  • Jill Dawson - Watch Me Disappear
  • Helen Dunmore - House of Orphans
  • Philippa Gregory - The Constant Princess
  • Alice Greenaway - White Ghost Girls
  • Gail Jones - Dreams of Speaking
  • Nicole Krauss - The History of Love
  • Hilary Mantel - Beyond Black
  • Sue Miller - Lost in the Forest
  • Joyce Carol Oates - Rape: A Love Story
  • Marilynne Robinson - Gilead
  • Curtis Sittenfeld - Prep
  • Ali Smith - The Accidental
  • Zadie Smith - On Beauty
  • Carrie Tiffany - Everyman's Rules for Scientific Living
  • Celestine Hitiura Vaite - Frangipani
  • Sarah Waters - The Night Watch
  • Meg Wolitzer - The Position

Smith's On Beauty wins book award
06 Feb 06 |  Entertainment
Smith wins Whitbread novel prize
03 Jan 06 |  Entertainment
Author Levy wins best of the best
03 Oct 05 |  Entertainment
Motherhood tale wins Orange Prize
07 Jun 05 |  Entertainment


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific