[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Friday, 3 March 2006, 00:13 GMT
East Europe dominates book prize
Imre Kertesz
Author Imre Kertesz won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2002
Six books have been shortlisted for the 2006 Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, with writers from Eastern Europe figuring prominently.

Two of the nominees come from Hungary, alongside entries from Poland, Croatia, France and Norway.

Magda Szabo's The Door and Fatelessness by Imre Kertesz were first published in Hungarian more than 15 years ago.

The winning author and translator will share the 10,000 prize. The recipients will be announced in early May.

Gary McKeone, director of literature at Arts Council England, said it was "a terrific shortlist" featuring books that will "transport readers to other cultures and other lives".

The Arts Council has supported the award, which previously ran between 1990 and 1995, since it was revived in 2001.

The complete shortlist is as follows:

  • Fatelessness by Imre Kertesz, translated from the Hungarian by Tim Wilkinson;

  • Mercedes-Benz by Pawel Huelle, translated from the Polish by Antonia Lloyd Jones;

  • The Ministry of Pain by Dubravka Ugresic, translated from the Croatian by Michael Henry Heim;

  • Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson, translated from the Norwegian by Anne Born;

  • The Door by Magda Szabo, translated from the Hungarian by Len Rix;

  • This Blinding Absence of Light by Tahar Ben Jelloun, translated from the French by Linda Coverdale.

    Fiction prize won by 9/11 novel
    27 Apr 05 |  Entertainment
    Swedish writer lands literary prize
    08 Apr 03 |  Entertainment
    Posthumous honour for author
    12 Apr 02 |  Entertainment


    The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


    Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific