Page last updated at 07:47 GMT, Tuesday, 9 May 2006 08:47 UK

Sony Radio Awards: The winners

The Sony Radio Academy Awards, the UK's most prestigious radio ceremony, has been held in London. Here is the full list of winners:

Special Awards

  • Gold award: Terry Wogan
  • The Special award: Beethoven Experience, BBC Radio 3

    Personality Awards

  • Music broadcaster: Zane Lowe, BBC Radio 1
  • Music radio personality: Chris Evans, BBC Radio 2
  • News journalist: Angus Stickler, BBC Radio 4
  • Speech broadcaster: Eddie Mair, BBC Radio 4
  • Station programmer: Richard Park, Magic 105.4

    Programme Awards

  • Breakfast show: Nick Ferrari at Breakfast, LBC 97.3FM
  • Music programme: Mornings with Rick Shaw, Kerrang! 105.2 West Midlands
  • Specialist music programme: Zane Lowe, BBC Radio 1
  • News and current affairs programme: Six O'Clock News Bulletin, BBC Radio 4
  • Sports programme: Fighting Talk, BBC Radio Five Live
  • Speech programme: Stephen Nolan Show, BBC Radio Ulster
  • Interactive programme: Scott Mills, BBC Radio 1
  • Entertainment award: Chris Moyles, BBC Radio 1

    Production Awards

  • Feature award: A Requiem for St Kilda, BBC Radio 4
  • Comedy award: The Ape That Got Lucky, BBC Radio 4
  • Drama award: No Background Music, BBC Radio 4
  • Music special award: Lennon: The Wenner Tapes, BBC Radio 4
  • News feature award: Return to Sarajevo, BBC World Service
  • Live event coverage award: The Boat Race 2005, LBC
  • Breaking news award: The London Bombings - GCap Media News for Capital Radio, Xfm and Choice FM
  • Community award: Hearing Voices, BBC Hereford & Worcester
  • Promo award: Kerrang! Christmas, Kerrang! 105.2 West Midland
  • Competition award: Xfm's Rock School, Xfm
  • Station imaging award: Kerrang! 105.2 West Midlands

    Station Awards

  • UK station of the year: Radio 1
  • Station of the year (up to 300,000 listeners):
    Coast 96.3, North Wales Coast
  • Station of the year (300,000 to 1million):
    Pirate FM, Cornwall, Plymouth and West Devon
  • Station of the year (1million plus):
    Kerrang! 105.2 West Midlands
  • Digital terrestrial station of the year: Planet Rock

    Radio 1 named station of the year
    09 May 06 |  Entertainment

    The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

    Has China's housing bubble burst?
    How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
    Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit

    BBC iD

    Sign in

    BBC navigation

    Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

    This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

    Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific