Europe South Asia Asia Pacific Americas Middle East Africa BBC Homepage World Service Education

Front Page



UK Politics







Talking Point

In Depth

On Air

Low Graphics

Thursday, October 14, 1999 Published at 14:14 GMT 15:14 UK


Independence day for British film

Gina McKee is one of the nominees for Best British Actress

Jane Horrocks, Gina McKee, Michael Caine and Tim Roth are among the stars in the running for British Independent Film awards.

The ceremony on Thursday, hosted by Gregory's Two Girls star John Gordon Sinclair, will honour the cream of homegrown film-making talent, including trophies for best film, actor/actress, newcomer and director.

[ image: Actor Tim Roth nominated for his directorial debut]
Actor Tim Roth nominated for his directorial debut
Hollywood actress Anjelica Huston and Motown legend Diana Ross will be among the guests at the event being held at London's Cafe Royal.

Movies on the shortlist include the dance culture film Human Traffic and the cross-cultural coming of age film East Is East.

Tim Roth's directorial debut The War Zone - a harrowing story of abuse - tops the nominations list after being shortlisted for five awards.

A jury of 10 made up of key industry players, including An Ideal Husband actress Sadie Frost and David Thompson from BBC Films, will pick the winners.

[ image: Hollywood star Anjelica Huston is on the guest list]
Hollywood star Anjelica Huston is on the guest list
They will give out a total of 13 awards, including three special jury awards for Lifetime Achievement, Producer of the Year and the Special Jury Prize.

To be eligible for consideration, films must not be solely funded by a single studio.

They must also be produced, or majority co-produced by a British company, or in receipt of at least 51% of their budget from a British source.

This is the second year of the awards ceremony and again there seems to be an emphasis on gritty tales of modern life.

[ image: Thriller Lighthouse receives two nominations]
Thriller Lighthouse receives two nominations
Along with The War Zone in the Best Film category is Michael Winterbottom's Wonderland. It follows three generations of one family as their separate paths cross each other over one weekend in London.

All the films in this category see their directors nominated for Best Director.

The Best Newcomer category sees Simon Bowles nominated for Lighthouse - a menacing tale about a prison ship carrying, among others, the most feared man Europe to a remote island jail.

Among those up for Best Actor and Best Actress are Little Voice stars Michael Caine and Jane Horrocks, Gina Mckee for Wonderland and Ray Winstone for The War Zone.

[ image: 1998: Ken Loach and My Name Is Joe actress Louise Goodall]
1998: Ken Loach and My Name Is Joe actress Louise Goodall
Last year, Winstone won Best Actor for Gary Oldman's hard-hitting Nil By Mouth and Kathy Burke won Best Actress for the same film.

Ken Loach won Best Film and Best Director for his uncomprising My Name is Joe.

As well as British output, the awards also honour independent film-makers overseas working in English and foreign languages.

This year's nominations include Spanish director Pedro Almodovar's All About My Mother.

The awards are part of the Raindance Festival of British Independent Film which runs until 21 October in London.

List of nominees

Best British Film

  • A Room For Romeo Brass
  • Gods and Monsters
  • Hilary and Jackie
  • The War Zone
  • Wonderland

    Best Foreign Film _ English Language

  • Buffalo 66
  • Happiness
  • Praise
  • Rushmore
  • The Blair Witch Project

    Best Actor

  • Daniel Auteuil (The Lost Son)
  • Michael Caine (Little Voice)
  • Daniel Craig (The Trench)
  • Ian McKellan (Gods and Monsters)
  • Ray Winstone (The War Zone)

    Best Actress

  • Lara Belmont (The War Zone)
  • Rachel Griffiths (Hilary and Jackie)
  • Jane Horrocks (Little Voice)
  • Gina McKee (Wonderland)
  • Emily Watson (Hilary and Jackie)

    Best Director

  • Bill Condon (Gods and Monsters)
  • Shane Meadows (A Room For Romeo Brass)
  • Tim Roth (The War Zone)
  • Anand Tucker (Hilary and Jackie)
  • Michael Winterbottom (Wonderland)

    The Douglas Hickox Award

  • Jasmin Dizdar (Beautiful People)
  • Damien O'Donnell (East Is East)
  • Justin Kerrigan (Human Traffic)
  • Clare Kilner (Janice Beard 45wpm)
  • Lynne Ramsey (Ratcatcher)

    Best Original Screenplay

  • Jasmin Dizdar (Beautiful People)
  • David Kane (This Year_s Love)
  • Ayub Khan Din (East Is East)
  • Shane Meadows and Paul Fraser (A Room For Romeo Brass)
  • Lynne Ramsey (Ratcatcher)

    Best Newcomer

  • Keri Arnold (The Darkest Light)
  • Lara Belmont (The War Zone)
  • Simon Bowles (Lighthouse)
  • Alvin Knuckler (Ratcatcher)
  • Eileen Walsh (Janice Beard 45wpm)

    Best Achievement in Production

  • Following
  • Get Real
  • Human Traffic
  • Lighthouse
  • The Trench

    Advanced options | Search tips

    Back to top | BBC News Home | BBC Homepage | ©

  • Entertainment Contents

    TV and Radio
    New Media

    Relevant Stories

    16 Aug 99 | Edinburgh Festival 99
    Ratcatcher starts film festival

    16 Aug 99 | Edinburgh Festival
    Edinburgh in the frame

    Internet Links

    Raindance - The voice of independent British film

    The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites.